batch rename failes sometimes with EXIF date taken

Bugs, defects, GPFs found in XnView Classic.

Moderators: Olivier_G, Dreamer, XnTriq, helmut, xnview

batch rename failes sometimes with EXIF date taken

Postby FrankHe56 » Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:23 pm

:?:
I have shot several pics with my Lumix FZ30. When I tried to batch rename them it failed for the first 100 pics or so. It appeared nothing in the filename. The other pics were ok.
XnView could read the complete EXIF-Tags from all the fotos, but didn't use them for file-renaming in all cases.
I guess, it's a bug in XnView.
Is this problem known or does anyone know the reason for it?
If necessary I can send 2 pics per eMail.

Greetings
Frank :(
FrankHe56
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Luedinghausen

Re: batch rename failes sometimes with EXIF date taken

Postby FrankHe56 » Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:26 pm

Sorry,
I've forgotten:
The batch-renaming was possible with Amok Exif Sorter without any problem.
Frank
FrankHe56
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Luedinghausen

Re: batch rename failes sometimes with EXIF date taken

Postby xnview » Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:50 pm

Do you use the last version?
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
 
Posts: 23018
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: batch rename failes sometimes with EXIF date taken

Postby msc-germany » Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:37 am

Hello,

i´ve also this problem! Actually i use Version 1.96.2
With this Version the funktion <Date Taken> doesn´t work correctly. Not all of the pictures were convert, only a few. At another PC i´ve a older Version (1.82.4) that convert the same pictures with the same funktion without any problem.

Greetings
Markus
msc-germany
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:25 am

Re: batch rename failes sometimes with EXIF date taken

Postby xnview » Wed Jul 29, 2009 11:28 am

msc-germany wrote:i´ve also this problem! Actually i use Version 1.96.2
With this Version the funktion <Date Taken> doesn´t work correctly. Not all of the pictures were convert, only a few. At another PC i´ve a older Version (1.82.4) that convert the same pictures with the same funktion without any problem.

If you check the ouput list (on the bottom), all output filename are good?
Is it always on same files?
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
 
Posts: 23018
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: batch rename failes sometimes with EXIF date taken

Postby msc-germany » Thu Jul 30, 2009 10:53 am

Hello,

also the listbox shows wrong names before job-processing. It seems likt the program could not read the exif informations, but in fact at the "Informations" all exif informations are shown incl. date taken.

Yesterday i send a .doc file to the adress "webamster@xnview.com" where is a comparision between the listbox of an older version and the newest version.

Greetings
Markus
msc-germany
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:25 am

Re: batch rename failes sometimes with EXIF date taken

Postby xnview » Thu Jul 30, 2009 11:30 am

msc-germany wrote:also the listbox shows wrong names before job-processing. It seems likt the program could not read the exif informations, but in fact at the "Informations" all exif informations are shown incl. date taken.

Ok, but could you send me some jpeg samples?
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
 
Posts: 23018
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: batch rename failes sometimes with EXIF date taken

Postby FrankHe56 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:58 am

Hello Pierre,
I use the latest version of XnView (1.96.2 Jul 2 2009). I will send 2 pictures by eMail, the first with the problem, the second without.
Frank
FrankHe56
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Luedinghausen

Re: batch rename failes sometimes with EXIF date taken

Postby matko » Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:10 pm

Same problem on EXIF <Date Taken> and batch rename with last version (1.96) but the problem appeared after somt IPCT manipulation.

I batch-renamed a set of pictures, it works once.
Then I modified IPCT "Title" tags and want to batch-rename again but this time, EXIF <Date Taken> was not seen in batch rename (EXIF informations are still OK)

I solved the problem with an older version (1.82.3)
matko
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:04 pm


Return to Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests