xmp sidecar files

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView MP or XnConvert MP which have been resolved.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

Fraenzken

xmp sidecar files

Post by Fraenzken »

It would be great to have an option to make XnView MP write xmp sidecar files. At the moment, the xmp information seems to be embedded in the pictures, which doesn't seem to work for raw files. For example, if I add an Olympus raw file to a category (e.g. "family") and open this raw file in Bibble 5, Bibble doesn't recognise the category information. ExifPro, on the other hand, writes xmp sidecar files. If I add a raw file to a category in ExifPro and open the raw file in Bibble afterwards, Bibble picks up the category name from the sidecar file and writes it automatically to the converted jpg.

Cheers
Frank
polarbeer

Re: xmp sidecar files

Post by polarbeer »

Hi,

I'm also interested in adding metadata into my photos/videos.

I'm a hobbyist who takes both photos (JPEG/RAW) and videos (AVCHD: *.mts/*.m2ts). I would like to find a software that allows me easily browse my photo and video folders and delete unwanted files after import from SDHC card. After that I would like to be able to attach necessary metadata into original files without the fear of corrupting originals. Using sidecar files seems the best choice so far. It would also make backup processes faster because you wouldn't have to copy whole photo and video files.

So far I haven't found a software that really "pushes the right buttons". Here are some improvements that I would really like to see in a good viewer/organizer program.