keep thumbnail cache

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: helmut, XnTriq, xnview

keep thumbnail cache

Postby tylenolthumb » Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:52 am

Hello people, I just downloaded xnview mp. I'd like to know what settings I need to change to keep thumbnails between sessions. Right now my thumbnail rebuilds every time I close and restart xnview mp. I'd like to keep the thumbnail from deleting itself everytime I close down the program. I have enabled thumbnail caching and set maximum size for cached thumbnails to 1000MB, but it doesn't seem to work. My thumbnails still reset if I restart the program. Also, while running the program, any time I change the directory, the thumbnail rebuilds. It also doesn't let me add folders in thumbnail cache options. My thumb.db file is always 40kb, and xnview.db is always 1kb, they dont increase in size. How to fix this? Thank you.
tylenolthumb
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:14 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby m.Th. » Fri Oct 03, 2014 9:52 am

tylenolthumb wrote:Hello people, I just downloaded xnview mp. I'd like to know what settings I need to change to keep thumbnails between sessions. Right now my thumbnail rebuilds every time I close and restart xnview mp. I'd like to keep the thumbnail from deleting itself everytime I close down the program. I have enabled thumbnail caching and set maximum size for cached thumbnails to 1000MB, but it doesn't seem to work. My thumbnails still reset if I restart the program. Also, while running the program, any time I change the directory, the thumbnail rebuilds. It also doesn't let me add folders in thumbnail cache options. My thumb.db file is always 40kb, and xnview.db is always 1kb, they dont increase in size. How to fix this? Thank you.


With the default settings (Enable thumbnail caching checked) it should keep them.

...but I encountered this in rare situations also to another user which I know.

Do you have write rights in the folder with thumbs.db / xnview.db?

Also, deselect the "Maximum size for cached thumbnails" - it doesn't do anything if you have space on your storage.

Try this: Leave the program to finish building the thumbs in the current directory and only then go to another directory and close the program. In this case the thumbs are kept?

What do you mean by

It also doesn't let me add folders in thumbnail cache options.


Do you have an error shown? What do you do?
m. Th.

The Ascetic Experience - The best photos and texts from Holy Mountain (Athos)

- Dark Themed XnViewMP 0.84 64bit & XnView 2.00 x64 on Win7 x64 -
User avatar
m.Th.
XnThusiast
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:31 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby tylenolthumb » Fri Oct 03, 2014 11:49 am

Hello, thank you for the reply, it still doesn't work. Cache still resets every time I change directories. What I mean by I cannot add folder is that in the settings->browser->database option where you can add a folder to have it cached, I could add a folder and see the progress bar, but once the progress bar is finished, I don't see the folder under cached directory. Also, in my XnVIewMP folder, I have three files which are small (Thumb.db 40kb, Xnview.db 1kb, and xnview.ini 11kb). I think it's a problem with XnViewMP, because when I use XnView classic, thumbnail cache work, and the xnview.db file is 250MB. My computer seems to not caching at all with XnViewMP. Also I restarted my computer and xnviewmp reset my view settings, so I think it's a problem of my computer not getting modified by xnviewmp.
tylenolthumb
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:14 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby xnview » Fri Oct 03, 2014 1:06 pm

strange, try to remove xnview.db & thumb.db?
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
 
Posts: 26835
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby tylenolthumb » Fri Oct 03, 2014 1:52 pm

I deleted them and the next time I opened up xnviewmp they came back, but also as really small files.
tylenolthumb
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:14 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby m.Th. » Sat Oct 04, 2014 3:40 pm

Puzzling...

Try:

Close the program.
Delete/rename/hide the xnview.ini (Btw, in Tools | Settings | Integration | Paths do you have "use .ini file"?)
Start the program.

It works?

I deleted them and the next time I opened up xnviewmp they came back, but also as really small files.


Natural. But this is good because we know that here is your data folder.
m. Th.

The Ascetic Experience - The best photos and texts from Holy Mountain (Athos)

- Dark Themed XnViewMP 0.84 64bit & XnView 2.00 x64 on Win7 x64 -
User avatar
m.Th.
XnThusiast
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:31 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby tylenolthumb » Sat Oct 04, 2014 4:20 pm

Nope it still doesn't work. Yes I have .ini enabled in integration option. When I delete xnview.ini, and reopen the program, it just starts the setup wizard. Thumbnail cache is just not saved, even within one session. Is xnviewmp a lot different from xnview in terms of how it access the computer? I'm a noob.

Also, I noticed that when I change paths to "use windos registry" and click ok, the program closes. When I open it up again, the option still says "use .ini file in folder". It's like I can't change that option.
tylenolthumb
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:14 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby xnview » Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:46 am

which windows do you have?
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
 
Posts: 26835
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby tylenolthumb » Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:55 pm

Windows 8.1
tylenolthumb
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:14 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby xnview » Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:09 am

tylenolthumb wrote:Windows 8.1

same as me... You don't change the ini&db path, right?
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
 
Posts: 26835
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby tylenolthumb » Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:01 pm

I didn't change anything. I can still find .ini and .db files in <user>/AppData/Roaming/XnViewMP. Actually I can't change where it saves the .ini and .db files. They always go to the User (system) default folder. I deleted the .ini and .db files and ran the startup wizard again. This time I chose use .ini in program files and set my .db in a folder on desktop. However, after clicking OK, every still goes into the AppData/Roaming/XNviewMP folder.

Also, I tried uninstall a couple times and reinstalled, but same problem. I also noticed that even after reinstall, my computer remembers the menu's place in start menu, so it doesn't seem uninstall is completely uninstalling the program. How do I completely uninstall so I can do a complete reinstall?

Xnview classic works great but I don't know how it's different from XnviewMP. Is it possible for Xnview to view non-English files?
tylenolthumb
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:14 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby xnview » Wed Oct 08, 2014 8:18 pm

tylenolthumb wrote:I didn't change anything. I can still find .ini and .db files in <user>/AppData/Roaming/XnViewMP. Actually I can't change where it saves the .ini and .db files. They always go to the User (system) default folder. I deleted the .ini and .db files and ran the startup wizard again. This time I chose use .ini in program files and set my .db in a folder on desktop. However, after clicking OK, every still goes into the AppData/Roaming/XNviewMP folder.

Also, I tried uninstall a couple times and reinstalled, but same problem. I also noticed that even after reinstall, my computer remembers the menu's place in start menu, so it doesn't seem uninstall is completely uninstalling the program. How do I completely uninstall so I can do a complete reinstall?

Please send me your email by PM

Xnview classic works great but I don't know how it's different from XnviewMP. Is it possible for Xnview to view non-English files?

Unicode is not supported...
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
 
Posts: 26835
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby tylenolthumb » Tue Dec 02, 2014 5:19 pm

my thumb.db and xnview.db are not getting modified
tylenolthumb
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:14 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby budafuco » Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:28 am

I have the same problem since I installed XNVIEW MP. Nothing I do makes it remember thumbnails. I can full build thumbnails for a folder of pictures, click out of it, click back, and it has to rebuild the thumbnails. Win 10, clean system. Uninstalled, reinstalled, verified folder rights. Tried as admin. Windows explorer remembers thumbnails fine.
budafuco
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 1:39 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Postby Erixx haxx » Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:18 pm

Hello:

Can you check your settings.

Options>> Catalog
Tick: enable thumbnail caching. also make sure you haven't got a max size set.
Windows 7 Ultimate, x64-bit (SP 1) XnViewMP x64 v0.85-b-2 Port
ASUSTek P8Z77-v
i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz
Memory: x16.0 GB
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB ATA
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 @ 1177 MHz
Dedicated: 4096 MB GDDR5
User avatar
Erixx haxx
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 10:37 am

Next

Return to MP - General Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest