Is XnView (or XnView MP) intended for video viewing?

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

Vladimir Snakeyes

Is XnView (or XnView MP) intended for video viewing?

Post by Vladimir Snakeyes »

I am very new to all of this, but when I checked the compatible file formats link for both XnView and XnView MP it seems like they are missing all of the most common video file formats. I cannot find AVI, MP4, or many others.

So is this program really only intended for pictures? When viewing MP4's in either program the thumbnails never appear. Both will play the videos in a very basic player (XnView classic lags considerably). When I select an mp4 file in XnView and try the "Extract Movie Frames" option the popup appears, however no matter what I select for any of the fields, the "Go" button simply never does anything. In order to continue using the program at all I need to hit the "Close" button to exit the popup without ever extracting movie frames.

Am I supposed to be downloading some sort of plugin or addon in order to utilize this feature and to enable thumbnails for these file formats?
Erixx haxx

Re: Is XnView (or XnView MP) intended for video viewing?

Post by Erixx haxx »

Hello:

It Sounds like you are most likely missing codecs. XnviewMP uses the same codecs as Explorer, so if you don't see thumbs inside Explorer, you won't inside Xnview.

The 2 most common are:
- K-lite -- The Dev recommends This one
- Media Player codec pack with/for MPC. -- I use this one.

Also another option is to add ffmpeg to the plugins folder,
My understanding is that If ffmpeg is not found then program defaults to using codecs instead for thumbs.
Vladimir Snakeyes

Post by Vladimir Snakeyes »

Erixx haxx wrote:Hello:

It Sounds like you are most likely missing codecs. XnviewMP uses the same codecs as Explorer, so if you don't see thumbs inside Explorer, you won't inside Xnview.

The 2 most common are: