Clearing all categories

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

monitor

Clearing all categories

Post by monitor »

Hi, I am somewhat new to XnViewMP - using 0.85 - and am wondering if there is a reasonably quick and convenient way to clear all all categories, or to avoid merging when loading a new categories file?
TIA
helmut

Re: Clearing all categories

Post by helmut »

Thank you for registering to the XnView forum and your request, monitor. I'm not very familiar with categories and also wondered: Assigning categories is easy but removing all categories seems not supported. E.g. I would expect an entry "Category » Remove from all categories" in context menu.
I'm very nosey to read what categories experts like m.Th. reply.
xnview
Author of XnView

Post by xnview »

In category pane, you have 'Categories management>Clear all'
Pierre.
m.Th.
XnThusiast

Post by m.Th. »

What Pierre said.

However, the confirmation message should be clearer and use the word "Delete" and not "Clear" again...
m. Th.

- Dark Themed XnViewMP 1.6 64bit on Win11 x64 -
helmut

Post by helmut »

xnview wrote:In category pane, you have 'Categories management>Clear all'
O.k.. I've seen that meny entry but didn't expect that this was the right menu to remove all categories from a file. To be honest I think the hidden location of the menu is no good. And the menu itself is pretty unclear and feels and looks wrong to me. An example: Why is it "Category management > Clear all" and not "File's categories > Clear all"?
Perhaps time to start a seperate topic and discussion...
monitor

Post by monitor »

Thank you, Pierre.
I had missed that entry
My main interest was to make it easier for me to manage my categories - I was having trouble moving 'leafs' to the proper place.
However, one of the comments in this thread, made me sit up and take notice, because, it seems that 'Clear all" really does way more than I expected.