[LONG] XnView Bug or not? Help to find a problem source.

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

bdragon

[LONG] XnView Bug or not? Help to find a problem source.

Post by bdragon »

Okay, so a few days ago i dwindled in the untested settings of ccleaner and did some damage to my session manager by clearing it. Up to now this seems to have hit only two "kinds" of programs. Chrome/chromium and XnView/XnConvert.

Namely i am trying to reverse some changes i did, but up to now, it all seems to point that my mistake was to "clean" the session manager.

In chrome i get that at high cpu usage a specific pair of extensions hang my computer when i close chrome, these were previously harmless, and being an engineer i often tax my computer. It seems that by stopping them chrome has no problems anymore, but it seems weird. They are basically a couple of javascript injecting extensions. One is greasemonkey for personalising some sites i visit often, the other is backerkit. Basically the same thing which seems to involve javascript use.

Vice versa i've started to see that xnview and xnconvert have both started hanging again. A problem which i had previously fixed by telling them not to check internet for updates anymore.

Now, if these were my college days i would simply format everything and pass the next day reinstalling everything. But this is not college anymore. I need to work too on this computer and if i reinstall programs on this computer i will have to pass the next two weeks on phone support to get my installation re-initialized to allow those programs to start working again.

So i need to find a solution which does not force me to reinstall everything.

let's go by steps.
- first. What was CCleaner cleaning? It's a system key, so obviously no files, but looking into the winapp2ini this is what the beta testing setting was cleaning:

[Session Manager*]
LangSecRef=3025
Detect=HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows