0.84: Batch rename/name template issues

Bugs that have been retested and bug fix is NOT confirmed.

Moderator: Dreamer

0.84: Batch rename/name template issues

Postby Guinness » Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:12 pm

Hi,

I'm looking for hints and tips with the batch rename function. There are at least three things that may have some bugs (or I try to use them the wrong way).

  1. When using the batch rename feature i have the problem that the option "Create new name template when opening dialog" doesn't seem to work anymore. The checkbox is checked but the template always stays at #### no matter what file names my images have.
  2. Before I updated to v0.84 the name template feature worked though this function was working a bit different than I was used to coming from XnView Classic

    Example file names:
    2017.01 - 01 Visit to Paris.jpg
    2017.01 - 02 Visit to Paris.jpg
    2017.01 - 03 Visit to Paris.jpg

    XnView Classic:
    Template: 2017.01 - ## Visit to Paris.jpg
    Start: 1

    XnView MP
    Template: ####.01 - 01 Visit to Paris.jpg
    Start: 2017


    I think you can understand why I preferred the classic way... :)
  3. If I try to go through the history of all my name templates with the cursor down key I can only change between list entry 1 and 2 allthough there are more than 10 entries in the dropdown box. Is this a bug or am I missing a special hotkey?

Thank you for your help!
Guinness
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:36 pm

Re: 0.84: Batch rename/name template issues

Postby helmut » Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:46 pm

Thank you for your detailed and good problem report, Guinness, which made reproducing your bugs easy. :-)

I can confirm both problems:
1 - Wrong automatic name template for filenames with dot character / Difference in automatic name template to XnView Classic :bugconfirmed:
From what I can see, the automatic name template generation has problems with the dot character (.). When renaming your files everything works fine:
2017-01 - 01 Visit to Paris.jpg
2017-01 - 02 Visit to Paris.jpg
2017-01 - 03 Visit to Paris.jpg

2 - Only two entries of drop down list are selectable using cursor down/up keys. :bugconfirmed:
As a workaround you might press "F4" to open the dropdownlist and then select an entry using the cursor keys.
User avatar
helmut
Moderator
 
Posts: 7779
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 0.84: Batch rename/name template issues

Postby xnview » Wed Jan 25, 2017 2:23 pm

See Issue 1062 for details.
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
 
Posts: 26738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.84: Batch rename/name template issues

Postby xnview » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:13 am

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.85 beta 1. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
 
Posts: 26738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.84: Batch rename/name template issues

Postby Guinness » Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:58 am

Hello Pierre!

I just retested the issues using 0.85b1:

1. When using the batch rename feature i have the problem that the option "Create new name template when opening dialog" doesn't seem to work anymore. The checkbox is checked but the template always stays at #### no matter what file names my images have.
This is working now flawlessly! THX.

Before I updated to v0.84 the name template feature worked though this function was working a bit different than I was used to coming from XnView Classic
This issue vanished, too! THX again.

If I try to go through the history of all my name templates with the cursor down key I can only change between list entry 1 and 2 allthough there are more than 10 entries in the dropdown box.
Sadly this problem persists :(.

THX for your good work!
Guinness
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:36 pm

Re: 0.84: Batch rename/name template issues

Postby helmut » Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:13 pm

Thank you very much for checking and your reporting back, Guinness.

Guinness wrote:...
If I try to go through the history of all my name templates with the cursor down key I can only change between list entry 1 and 2 allthough there are more than 10 entries in the dropdown box.
Sadly this problem persists :(.
@Pierre: Do you want a new bug report for this remaining problem?
User avatar
helmut
Moderator
 
Posts: 7779
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 0.84: Batch rename/name template issues

Postby xnview » Tue Mar 21, 2017 8:37 am

helmut wrote:Thank you very much for checking and your reporting back, Guinness.

Guinness wrote:...
If I try to go through the history of all my name templates with the cursor down key I can only change between list entry 1 and 2 allthough there are more than 10 entries in the dropdown box.
Sadly this problem persists :(.
@Pierre: Do you want a new bug report for this remaining problem?

yes please another bug report
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
 
Posts: 26738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France


Return to Tested - Not fixed

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest