0.79: Problem with dropdownlist for IPTC countrycode

Bugs that are confirmed but cannot be fixed for some reasons.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview, Dreamer

Post Reply
herb
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:19 pm

0.79: Problem with dropdownlist for IPTC countrycode

Post by herb »

Hello,

I work with XnViewMP 0.79.
Clicking on the arrow of "countrycode" field in window: "Edit IPTC-IIM/XMP" on tab "source" I get a popup of all available country codes with too much space in between the 3 characters code and the corresponding country name.
The country name is not readable at all. Please see the attached screenshot attached in *.zip file.

I solved the problem for me replacing all "\t" with one space in file country.txt.
Does this have any side effects?
Maybe we get an officially corrected file with next delivery of XnViewMp

Best regards
Herb
Attachments
Screenshot.zip
(266.12 KiB) Downloaded 76 times
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33840
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Working with countycode

Post by xnview »

Perhaps a problem on Xp, on my Win8.1, no problem...
If i replace '\t' with 1 space, there is no more alignment...
screen-1.jpg
screen-1.jpg (10.57 KiB) Viewed 2745 times
Pierre.
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 0.79: Problem with dropdownlist for IPCT countrycode

Post by helmut »

Reproduced in XnView MP 0.84.

The problem occurs after activating "Fusion" theme.

To reproduce:
1. Start XnView
2. Select View » Theme » Fusion
3. Exit and restart XnView to apply the theme change.
4. Select a JPG image in the file list.
5. Select Tools » Meta data » Edit IPTC/IIM...
6. Switch to "Source" tab and click on [V] of the "Countrycode" dropdownlist.
Actual behaviour (bug): Dropdownlist is shown. There's a large space between countrycode and country name. All country names are truncated (see screenshot in initial post). The dropdownlist covers the complete screen vertically and displays about 50 items.

Expected behaviour: Dropdownlist is shown. Items in dropdownlist are not truncated.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33840
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.79: Problem with dropdownlist for IPCT countrycode

Post by xnview »

helmut wrote:Reproduced in XnView MP 0.84.
The problem occurs after activating "Fusion" theme.
It seems to be a problem with the theme Fusion
Pierre.
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 0.79: Problem with dropdownlist for IPCT countrycode

Post by helmut »

xnview wrote:
helmut wrote:Reproduced in XnView MP 0.84.
The problem occurs after activating "Fusion" theme.
It seems to be a problem with the theme Fusion
O.k.. Did you also succeed in reproducing the problem?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33840
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.79: Problem with dropdownlist for IPCT countrycode

Post by xnview »

yes but can't fix it
Pierre.
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 0.79: Problem with dropdownlist for IPCT countrycode

Post by helmut »

xnview wrote:yes but can't fix it
O.k.

:arrow: Postponed
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 0.79: Problem with dropdownlist for IPTC countrycode

Post by helmut »

The aligning entries in the dropdownlist using a tab causes problems.

What about using something like "ABW - Aruba" or "ABW (Aruba)"? Alignment wouldn't be optimal but this should work for all themes without causing problems.
Post Reply