Photoshop plugin, how?

Bugs that are confirmed but cannot be fixed for some reasons.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview, Dreamer

BK201
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby BK201 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:46 pm

Didn't figure out how this works.
Are all I need some .8bf files?
Or I must have Photoshop x86 version installed?

OS: Win 10 x64
PS: Adobe Photoshop CS6 (64 Bit) (x64 only)
XV: 0.83-XnViewMP-win-x64

1.png
1.png (38.78 KiB) Viewed 1035 times

2.png

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5118
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby XnTriq » Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:15 am

Photoshop doesn't have to be installed for 8BFs to work with XnView.
The 32-bit edition of MP requires 32-bit 8BFs, and the 64-bit version needs 64-bit plug-ins. (I don't know if AlphaPlugins LaunchBox is compatible with XnView MP).


BK201
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby BK201 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:25 am

XnTriq wrote:Photoshop doesn't have to be installed for 8BFs to work with XnView.
The 32-bit edition of MP requires 32-bit 8BFs, and the 64-bit version needs 64-bit plug-ins. (I don't know if AlphaPlugins LaunchBox is compatible with XnView MP).



Without luck :(

1. I added plugin path to the adobe plugin manager
In the xnview.ini it says

Code: Select all

[Adobe]
Adobe\Path=K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/


2. I put a x64 plugin 8BF file into said path (as said in the OP, I'm using xnview x64 on x64 OS)

Code: Select all

K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/USM2-x64.8bf


3. Nothing happened.

Compatible problem probably?
Is there a compatible plugin list?
Can you provide me a working x64 8BF plugin so I can tell if it's the problem of my plugins?

And I attached the plugin I was using to test, it works on photoshop x64
Attachments
USM2-x64.7z
(46.72 KiB) Downloaded 18 times

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5118
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby XnTriq » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:15 pm

BK201 wrote:1. I added plugin path to the adobe plugin manager
In the xnview.ini it says

Code: Select all

[Adobe]
Adobe\Path=K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/


2. I put a x64 plugin 8BF file into said path (as said in the OP, I'm using xnview x64 on x64 OS)

Code: Select all

K:/App/Something/XnViewMP/plugins/photoshop/USM2-x64.8bf


3. Nothing happened.

To prevent possible conflicts Photoshop-compatible filters shouldn't be placed in any of the “special” subdirectories of your XnView installation. (I keep all filters in %CommonFiles%\Plug-Ins\ so I can point host applications to that folder.)

BK201 wrote:Is there a compatible plugin list?

Free Adobe Photoshop Plug-Ins for XnView Classic (32-bit)

BK201 wrote:Can you provide me a working x64 8BF plugin so I can tell if it's the problem of my plugins?

Could you please extract/install the following 64-bit freeware plug-ins to K:/App/Something/Plug-Ins/ or whatever and do some tests?


BK201
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby BK201 » Wed Nov 23, 2016 10:32 am

XnTriq wrote:Could you please extract/install the following 64-bit freeware plug-ins to K:/App/Something/Plug-Ins/ or whatever and do some tests?



Tried two of them: luce2 & namesuppressed
What I did:
1. Create the folder you mentioned
2. Download & extract them to the new Plug-Ins folder
3. Start XnView-MP (normal starting & running as administrator)

Nothing happened :/
2.png


I'm sure those plugins you provided works well in Photoshop
1.png
1.png (42.17 KiB) Viewed 956 times


All I want is just a simply Pixelize>Mosaic filter ;_;
Is there any alternatives for XnView MP?
Sure I can using Photoshop to do this, but I hope I can apply a simply mosaic effect without launching such a complex program and waiting for it starting up for seconds.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5118
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby XnTriq » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:15 pm

Thanks for testing, BK201 :-)

As you pointed out earlier, certain filters will only run with Photoshop due to compatibility issues, …

… but the Luce plug-in is fairly simple. Let's hope that Pierre will have time to look into this.

BK201 wrote:All I want is just a simply Pixelize>Mosaic filter ;_;
Is there any alternatives for XnView MP?
Sure I can using Photoshop to do this, but I hope I can apply a simply mosaic effect without launching such a complex program and waiting for it starting up for seconds.

Too bad MP is missing the Mosaic effect we have in Classic. Have you given Richard Rosenman's Pixelate a try?

BTW: PSFilterShim is able to host both 32-bit and 64-bit plug-ins under Paint.NET.

BK201
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby BK201 » Thu Nov 24, 2016 9:56 am

XnTriq wrote:Thanks for testing, BK201 :-)

As you pointed out earlier, certain filters will only run with Photoshop due to compatibility issues, …

… but the Luce plug-in is fairly simple. Let's hope that Pierre will have time to look into this.

BK201 wrote:All I want is just a simply Pixelize>Mosaic filter ;_;
Is there any alternatives for XnView MP?
Sure I can using Photoshop to do this, but I hope I can apply a simply mosaic effect without launching such a complex program and waiting for it starting up for seconds.

Too bad MP is missing the Mosaic effect we have in Classic. Have you given Richard Rosenman's Pixelate a try?

BTW: PSFilterShim is able to host both 32-bit and 64-bit plug-ins under Paint.NET.


Thanks for your recommendations, tried Rosenman's Pixelate, still not working on MP ( ´・ω・`)
Seems that I have to use Photoshop for Mosaic filter for another two years (or longer)
I'm not sure if this is just a compatibility problem since NONE of those 8BF plugins working on MP. It looks more like something wrong with the plugin handler.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5118
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby XnTriq » Thu Nov 24, 2016 4:15 pm

BK201 wrote:I'm not sure if this is just a compatibility problem since NONE of those 8BF plugins working on MP. It looks more like something wrong with the plugin handler.

I agree. That's why I'm hoping that Pierre will eventually comment on this.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 28394
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby xnview » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:27 am

There is a problem with 64bits 8bf support
See Issue 1026 for details.

Luce, and some nik collection plugin can be used, i have always a crash with USM2 when applying
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8120
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby helmut » Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:17 am

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.

BK201
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby BK201 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:50 am

helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.

Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnViewMP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8120
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby helmut » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:57 am

BK201 wrote:
helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.

Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnView MP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop
Thank you for your feedback, BK201. I've moved this topic to "New/Open"; I guess further investigation will be done after the release of version 0.84.

BK201
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby BK201 » Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:51 am

helmut wrote:
BK201 wrote:
helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.

Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnView MP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop
Thank you for your feedback, BK201. I've moved this topic to "New/Open"; I guess further investigation will be done after the release of version 0.84.

Cool, but this is no longer a major bug for me since the Pixelate feature is back in 0.84 beta 3 :D

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8120
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby helmut » Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:36 pm

BK201 wrote:
helmut wrote:This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.84 beta 3.

Thanks!
I tested it, most of them now works, yet some of them are still not recognized (both x86 & x64 version).
Could you take a look at it when you have spare time?
Example 8BF plugin that works on Photoshop but on XnViewMP: FFT for 64 bit photoshop
@Pierre: There are still some plug-ins that do not work. Do you plan to look into this now or later (if later, this bug report will be moved to "Postponed")?

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 28394
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Photoshop plugin, how?

Postby xnview » Mon Feb 27, 2017 10:17 am

helmut wrote:@Pierre: There are still some plug-ins that do not work. Do you plan to look into this now or later (if later, this bug report will be moved to "Postponed")?

later
Pierre.


Return to “Postponed”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest