0.84: Edit IPTC: "Don't Show this message..." doesn't work

Reported bugs that have been closed and/or resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview, Dreamer

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31739
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.84: Edit IPTC: "Don't Show this message..." doesn't w

Post by xnview » Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:35 am

helmut wrote: Bug #1:
Regardless whether [x] Don't load values is checked or not it doesn't load the current IPTC/IIM values. In the info panel "XMP" the values are displayed. :bug:
Do you use IPTC IIM or XMP mode?
Bug #2:
The button was renamed to "Save to files". Suggestion was "Save to all files". (The "all" is the important bit).
ok
Bug #3:
Also, when navigating back and forth the values that have been saved are lost. :bug:
To reproduce:
1. Select several JPG images
2. Select "Edit IPTC/IIM"
3. Enter a caption "abc" and select ">" button to navigate to the next image.
XnView displays a message box "IPTC data has changed. Do you want to save your changes?" Confirm this message box with "Yes".
4. Navigate back to the previous image.
Actual behaviour (bug): Caption field is empty. :bug:

Expected behaviour: Caption "abc" entered in step 3 is displayed.
i can't reproduce, it works for me
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8172
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 0.84: Edit IPTC: "Don't Show this message..." doesn't w

Post by helmut » Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:42 am

xnview wrote:
helmut wrote: Bug #1:
Regardless whether [x] Don't load values is checked or not it doesn't load the current IPTC/IIM values. In the info panel "XMP" the values are displayed. :bug:
Do you use IPTC IIM or XMP mode?
I don't know - I use the default.
xnview wrote:
helmut wrote:Bug #3:
Also, when navigating back and forth the values that have been saved are lost. :bug:
To reproduce:
1. Select several JPG images
2. Select "Edit IPTC/IIM"
3. Enter a caption "abc" and select ">" button to navigate to the next image.
XnView displays a message box "IPTC data has changed. Do you want to save your changes?" Confirm this message box with "Yes".
4. Navigate back to the previous image.
Actual behaviour (bug): Caption field is empty. :bug:

Expected behaviour: Caption "abc" entered in step 3 is displayed.
i can't reproduce, it works for me
I'll try out and will provide more details.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31739
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.84: Edit IPTC: "Don't Show this message..." doesn't w

Post by xnview » Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:46 am

helmut wrote:
xnview wrote:
helmut wrote: Bug #1:
Regardless whether [x] Don't load values is checked or not it doesn't load the current IPTC/IIM values. In the info panel "XMP" the values are displayed. :bug:
Do you use IPTC IIM or XMP mode?
I don't know - I use the default.
So IPTC, your image has IPTC or only XMP data?
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8172
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 0.84: Edit IPTC: "Don't Show this message..." doesn't w

Post by helmut » Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:39 pm

I just tried again:
When editing IPTC/IIM data of one image file it's shown in the data pane but not in the IPTC/IIM dialog. I suspect that I'm using the IPTC/IIM dialog in a wrong way.

Here's a screen capture which shows my current problem. When reopening the IPTC/IIM dialog all the fields are empty; I'd expect that the fields contain the values that I've entered previously.

CameronD
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:28 pm
Location: Australia

Re: 0.84: Edit IPTC: "Don't Show this message..." doesn't w

Post by CameronD » Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:03 am

I have retested in 0.85 beta 2 (23 March 2017).
I can confirm that:
  • the prompts are occurring at the correct time
  • the remembered operation seems to work as expected.

CameronD
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:28 pm
Location: Australia

Re: 0.84: Edit IPTC: "Don't Show this message..." doesn't w

Post by CameronD » Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:13 am

helmut wrote:I just tried again:
When editing IPTC/IIM data of one image file it's shown in the data pane but not in the IPTC/IIM dialog. I suspect that I'm using the IPTC/IIM dialog in a wrong way.

Here's a screen capture which shows my current problem. When reopening the IPTC/IIM dialog all the fields are empty; I'd expect that the fields contain the values that I've entered previously.
Helmut,
your image has only XMP data, no IPTC equivalents. open the "Edit IPTC" window and select the "Options" tab. That shows what mode you are operating this dialogue in.

I would like to use XMP only, but the browser details listing only uses the old IPTC-IIM values, so I make sure I duplicate XMP with IPTC.

Post Reply