Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Reported bugs that have been closed and/or resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview, Dreamer

Post Reply
User avatar
dergilbwillspam
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:46 pm

Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by dergilbwillspam » Fri Oct 30, 2015 1:00 am

Hi all,

since upgrading to 0.76 today, printing customized paper sizes (set up via Devices and Printers -> Print Server Properties) does no longer work properly. While in Page Setup the correct paper size is shown, it won't be used afterwards, i.e. the last standard size is used for preview. When printing, the customized size IS used, however with the last standard size in mind, e.g. only the upper level will be in the printout, since the aligning followed the standard size.

Reproduction:

1. Setup custom paper size via Devices and Printers -> Print Server Properties
2. Open something to print and select print.
3. Select Page setup...
4. Change size from (here: A4) to custom size (e.g. 10x10, as set up in step 1.)
5. Preview in Page Setup will show the new layout.
6. Back in the print dialog, the new paper size will NOT be shown, instead it is still the one selected before (here: A4).
7. Printing with a PDF printer will result in a custom sized PDF, but it will be most likely be massively cropped.

Windows 8.1 Pro, 64 bit / qvPDF

I never experienced this problem with the previous version(s?). Only custom paper sizes seem to be affected.

[EDIT]
Reverting back to 0.75 did not solve the problem. The only thing different today is an Adobe Acrobat Reader DC update that installed today automatically. Yesterday it worked fine.

[UPDATE] :bug:
Reverting back to 0.72 DID solve the problem. I assume that's where I wanted to revert back to in the first place.
Last edited by dergilbwillspam on Sun Nov 01, 2015 11:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 1870
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by cday » Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:14 am

dergilbwillspam wrote:Reverting back to 0.75 did not solve the problem. The only thing different today is an Adobe Acrobat Reader DC update that installed today automatically. Yesterday it worked fine.
Adobe Acrobat updates reset my file association for the PDF extension from Nitro Reader to Adobe every time, so that looks a likely explanation...

User avatar
dergilbwillspam
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:46 pm

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by dergilbwillspam » Sun Nov 01, 2015 12:46 pm

cday wrote:Adobe Acrobat updates reset my file association for the PDF extension from Nitro Reader to Adobe every time, so that looks a likely explanation...
I would not call this a similar problem. Restoring file associations is something an updater might be inclined to do. Furthermore, printing custom paper sizes with build-in applications like "Photos" or "Windows Photo Viewer" works the way I expect it to. The problems are connected to XNView MP. For now, I would rule out Adobe as the culprit.

User avatar
dergilbwillspam
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:46 pm

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by dergilbwillspam » Sun Nov 01, 2015 10:53 pm

I just tested it on another machine (Win 7 Ultimate, 64 bit). Same problem:

After upgrading from 0.72 to 0.76.1 I experience the same problems as on the other machine. The problem seems to start with versions greater than 0.72, as reverting back to 0.72 'solves' the problem.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30295
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by xnview » Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:15 pm

Right, it's a bug in Qt API, i'm waiting that they fix it...
Pierre.

User avatar
dergilbwillspam
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:46 pm

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by dergilbwillspam » Mon Nov 02, 2015 4:49 pm

I see. Thank you for the info and XnView!

[Edit: It's working now!]

User avatar
dergilbwillspam
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:46 pm

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by dergilbwillspam » Thu Jun 23, 2016 3:41 pm

Now with 0.80 it's broken again. :bug:

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30295
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by xnview » Fri Jun 24, 2016 12:33 pm

dergilbwillspam wrote:Now with 0.80 it's broken again. :bug:
right, Issue 756
Pierre.

User avatar
dergilbwillspam
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:46 pm

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by dergilbwillspam » Tue Jul 12, 2016 4:12 pm

It's working again in 0.81. Thank you!

User avatar
dergilbwillspam
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:46 pm

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by dergilbwillspam » Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:58 pm

It stopped working again since 0.91. But I guess there's nothing you can do about it if it's a QT thing.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30295
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by xnview » Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:10 pm

dergilbwillspam wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:58 pm
It stopped working again since 0.91. But I guess there's nothing you can do about it if it's a QT thing.
which printer do you have? i can reproduce for some size...
Pierre.

User avatar
dergilbwillspam
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:46 pm

Re: Since 0.76: Printing custom sizes is broken

Post by dergilbwillspam » Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:11 pm

xnview wrote:
Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:10 pm
which printer do you have? i can reproduce for some size...
I mostly use custom paper sizes with "Microsoft Print to PDF" that comes with Windows 10 (here: Pro, v1803, x64). But I just tested it with a Ricoh MP C2003 with the same result (that is, it doesn't work with the latest two versions of xnView MP. With 0.90 it's working).

That's DIN A4, but it will show the same (=last chosen standard size) for custom sizes:

xnview_cat.png

Post Reply