XnView on Xandros 3

Questions, suggestions, and answers for XnView on all Un*x platforms (Linux, HP-UX, AIX, ...)

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

david12

XnView on Xandros 3

Post by david12 »

I've used the following RPM files through a device called Xandros Networks to install XnView on my computer.
  • XnView-static-fc4.i386.rpm
    lesstif-0.95.0-1.i586.rpm
    lesstif-clients-0.95.0-1.i586.rpm
    lesstif-devel-0.95.0-1.i586.rpm
    lesstif-mwm-0.95.0-1.i586.rpm
Xandros Networks is a device to facilitate the installation of software for novice Linux users. And I am a novice.
The Xandros Networks process converts the RPM files to DEB files, then installs them. Apparently, all the files installed, but XnView will not start.
Is there something else I need to do (or undo)?
Thank you.
david12
xnview
Author of XnView

Re: XnView on Xandros 3

Post by xnview »

david12 wrote:I've used the following RPM files through a device called Xandros Networks to install XnView on my computer.
  • XnView-static-fc4.i386.rpm
    lesstif-0.95.0-1.i586.rpm
    lesstif-clients-0.95.0-1.i586.rpm
    lesstif-devel-0.95.0-1.i586.rpm
    lesstif-mwm-0.95.0-1.i586.rpm
Xandros Networks is a device to facilitate the installation of software for novice Linux users. And I am a novice.
The Xandros Networks process converts the RPM files to DEB files, then installs them. Apparently, all the files installed, but XnView will not start.
Is there something else I need to do (or undo)?
Thank you.
What do you have in the console when you start xnview?
Pierre.
david12

Post by david12 »

I tried to launch XnView by opening the console in /usr/bin and typing "xnview". The console responded as follows:

david@linux-laptop:/usr/bin$ xnview
xnview: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
david@linux-laptop:/usr/bin$

I used a find tool to look for "libstdc++.so.6", but I did not find it on my hard drive.

Thank you.
david12