Export Dialog - Remember last folder

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Rebooter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 9:42 am

Export Dialog - Remember last folder

Post by Rebooter » Fri Jun 20, 2008 9:49 am

I'd like to see the 'File | Export...' dialog remember the last folder saved to. As it is, it seems to use the last folder used by the 'File | Save As...' dialog.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29888
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Export Dialog - Remember last folder

Post by xnview » Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:58 pm

Hum, don't know. Which solution is better?
Use the original folder or the last folder?
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8145
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Export Dialog - Remember last folder

Post by helmut » Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:40 pm

xnview wrote:Hum, don't know. Which solution is better?
Use the original folder or the last folder?
Same problem as for "Save as...". I think the solution is a smart preset, see topic Usability: Default values for directory fields.

User avatar
foxyshadis
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:57 am

Re: Export Dialog - Remember last folder

Post by foxyshadis » Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:43 pm

So many years later, this is still the same? I absolutely hate having to navigate away from XnView's install folder every single time I export anything that I imported from the clipboard, to the point where I use it less often than I would like to. It seems to always default to the install folder for new images.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5294
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Export Dialog - Remember last folder

Post by XnTriq » Sun Jan 25, 2015 3:15 pm

I support the request for a Default "Export To" directory in addition to the existing Default "Copy To" directory and Default "Move To" directory.
foxyshadis wrote:I absolutely hate having to navigate away from XnView's install folder every single time I export anything that I imported from the clipboard, to the point where I use it less often than I would like to. It seems to always default to the install folder for new images.
Have you tried setting the Startup Directory to Current (Tools » Options... » General » Operations » Startup) as a workaround?
You may also want to deactivate Purge 'Most Recently Used Files & Directories' on exit in Tools » Options... » Interface » Interface » Recent lists.

Post Reply