REQ: Add Exit to Popup menu by Default

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
ckit
XnThusiast
Posts: 2442
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 1:11 am

REQ: Add Exit to Popup menu by Default

Post by ckit » Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:47 pm

I think it would be nice to have "Add "Exit" to Popup menu" enabled by default as it would give XnView a more complete feel, especially to new users.
Windows 10 Pro x64 1903
XnViewMP and Classic and PhotoFiltre Studio X

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31747
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: REQ: Add Exit to Popup menu by Default

Post by xnview » Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:43 pm

ckit wrote:I think it would be nice to have "Add "Exit" to Popup menu" enabled by default as it would give XnView a more complete feel, especially to new users.
Not sure, helmut your opinion ;-)
Pierre.

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Re: REQ: Add Exit to Popup menu by Default

Post by Danny » Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:47 pm

xnview wrote:
ckit wrote:I think it would be nice to have "Add "Exit" to Popup menu" enabled by default as it would give XnView a more complete feel, especially to new users.
Not sure, helmut your opinion ;-)
If you do (i don't care) then i suggest to put it to the top of the context menu for usability reasons.
Last edited by Danny on Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: REQ: Add Exit to Popup menu by Default

Post by Dreamer » Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:13 pm

Danny wrote:If you do (i don't care) then i suggest to put it to the top of the context menu.
Noooooo.

I strongly disagree.

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Re: REQ: Add Exit to Popup menu by Default

Post by Danny » Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:20 pm

Dreamer wrote:
Danny wrote:If you do (i don't care) then i suggest to put it to the top of the context menu.
Noooooo.

I strongly disagree.
Well, i'd get annoyed having to scroll to the end of the menu everytime just to close the program.

Olive
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:18 pm
Location: Marseille
Contact:

Post by Olive » Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:26 pm

One can already use ctrl+Q/alt+F4/X in title bar/right-click titlebar+close/ESC, so there's no urgent need to clutter the context menu up any more, IMHO.

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Danny » Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:34 pm

Olive wrote:One can already use ctrl+Q/alt+F4/X in title bar/right-click titlebar+close/ESC, so there's no urgent need to clutter the context menu up any more, IMHO.
True. So it only makes sense to add that switch to the fullscreen options.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: REQ: Add Exit to Popup menu by Default

Post by Dreamer » Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:39 pm

Danny wrote:Well, i'd get annoyed having to scroll to the end of the menu everytime just to close the program.
And I don't want to scroll to the top of the menu :wink:

This option is very important for me, don't change anything here without option to have current state.

Try to go to the lower part of the screen in Viewer and then use RMB context menu to exit xnview - this is the best and quickest way to exit xnview with a mouse!

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Re: REQ: Add Exit to Popup menu by Default

Post by Danny » Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:43 pm

Dreamer wrote:Try to go to the lower part of the screen in Viewer and then use RMB context menu to exit xnview - this is the best and quickest way to exit xnview with a mouse!
That's true. But the smaller the context menu is the lower you have to point your mouse.

Like i said - i don't even care about this. Do it or leave it, i'm fine either way.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8172
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: REQ: Add Exit to Popup menu by Default

Post by helmut » Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:08 pm

ckit wrote:I think it would be nice to have "Add "Exit" to Popup menu" enabled by default as it would give XnView a more complete feel, especially to new users.
I think most of all we should make sure that we have close in all context menus. In the context menu for fullscreen it is still missing (lite or normal, I don't know).

By default "Exit" should not be part of the context menu. Otherwise you would have Close and Exit in one context menu and too close together (by default). Please see also other discussion and thoughts in topic "Add exit to right mouse button menu".
Dreamer wrote:This option is very important for me, don't change anything here without option to have current state.
@Dreamer: If this works very well now for you, this does not necessarily mean that it works well for other people, too. For 1.80 I think we should keep it the way it is, now.

When opening the context menu you often have the problem that it sometimes popups towards the bottom and sometimes towards the top, depending where free space is for displaying the context menu.
For the next major release we might have two either two menu items "Close", one at the top and one at the bottom or we could have two options: "Add 'Close' to top of context menus" and "Add 'Close' at bottom of context menus". This would make all users happy.

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Danny » Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:28 pm

But tbh i would rather have no option for this than 2 options. It's just not important enough to justify 2 settings.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8172
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:57 pm

Danny wrote:But tbh i would rather have no option for this than 2 options. It's just not important enough to justify 2 settings.
Perhaps right. One strength of XnView are the options and it's flexibility, so it might be worth while having two options. As written before: Not in 1.80.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: REQ: Add Exit to Popup menu by Default

Post by Dreamer » Fri Jun 03, 2005 8:06 am

helmut wrote:
Dreamer wrote:This option is very important for me, don't change anything here without option to have current state.
@Dreamer: If this works very well now for you, this does not necessarily mean that it works well for other people, too
Right, therefore I said this.

I like your ideas above and I agree - Not in 1.80.

So could we close this topic? Anyone agree - in 1.81?

ckit
XnThusiast
Posts: 2442
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 1:11 am

Post by ckit » Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:22 am

Yes, I agree leave it for 1.81 we have enough to work on for 1.80.
Windows 10 Pro x64 1903
XnViewMP and Classic and PhotoFiltre Studio X

Post Reply