Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Brans
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:44 pm

Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by Brans » Sat Nov 17, 2012 5:44 am

Hi Pierre, is it possible to make XnView show in the first Windows context menu like XnShell does, not Open with? That's why I installed the shell extension again. I thought this feature would be added at this point in time.

I don't have XnView as a default because I use another program to view my images.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31166
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by xnview » Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:25 am

What do you means by first menu?
Pierre.

Brans
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by Brans » Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:40 am

I would like for you to have it in the same Context Menu that XnShell is in, (first Context Menu). Not in what I call the second Context Menu where Open with is. Just so you don't wonder why the Context Menus looks a little odd, I edited out certain things from them. One of the items I edited out is the default program I use to view my images.

Remember, I don't have XnView as my default program for images so I have to right-click on the image to bring up the Context Menu. It makes it much more convenient if I don't have to keep going to Open with to access XnView. I think most users agree. I use Xnview for batch renaming my images and the other program for viewing images.

Please let me know if you are able to do this. Because of my ignorance, I thought XnShell was designed to put XnView in the "first Context Menu".


Image

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31166
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by xnview » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:22 am

So something like 'open with XnView'?
Pierre.

Brans
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by Brans » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:31 pm

XnView is already in the Open with Context Menu. I would like to have XnView in the same Context Menu location that XnShell is in. So in other words, I would like to do the following to open XnView.

1. Right-click on image.

2. Left-click on XnView to open it AND NOT HAVE ANY MENUS. Some of the programs I edited out operate in this manner.

I would not like it to have another menu like XnShell. It's okay for XnShell, but not XnView since they are different.

Right now I have to right-click the image --> Open with, and then left-click XnView. See the new screenshot. Everything in purple is what I newly added to explain what I mean.


Image

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31166
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by xnview » Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:50 pm

yes, i don't mean to add XnView in open with menu :) but add 'open with XnView' menu entry
Pierre.

Brans
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by Brans » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:39 pm

Ok, :) I'm not sure if I fully understand, but as long as I have to click only once after right-clicking on the image that's good. No more than two clicks to open. In other words, right-click on the image, left-click to open XnViewMP without having to navigate through a second context menu by moving the cursor as now with the Open with Context Menu.

XnShell has a menu (where the arrow is) even though it's in the first Context Menu. Please make XnViewMP NOT HAVE A MENU. Just left-click to open from the first Context Menu.


Image

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5399
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by XnTriq » Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:30 am

I believe Brans would like to have an Open with XnView link in the context menu for sending images directly to view mode.
  • XnView v1.9:
    • Tools » Options... » System integration » Integration » Add 'Browse with XnView' to context menu
    XnView MP:
    • Tools » Settings... » Integration » Integration » Add 'Browse with XnViewMP' to context menu
@Brans: You can customize XnView's shell extension so that a click on the thumbnail in the context menu will send the file to an application of your choice (XnShell » Options... » General » To open picture, use).

Related topics:

Brans
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by Brans » Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:11 am

XnTriq wrote:I believe Brans would like to have an Open with XnView link in the context menu for sending images directly to view mode.
I already have XnViewMP in the Open with Context Menu. Look at the previous screenshots before the last one I posted. In the last screenshot I moved it from the Open with Context Menu with an image editor to the "first" Context Menu to illustrate how it would look/where I would like XnViewMP to be so it can be opened WITHOUT USING ANOTHER CONTEXT MENU.

My whole point is to avoid another Context Menu which XnShell has. Just for the heck of it I did set XnShell to Open XnViewMP by clicking on the image in the XnShell Context Menu but it's basically the same thing as using Open with.

I also tried the Browse with setting but nothing happened. I'm assuming that's because I have XnViewMP in Open with.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5399
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by XnTriq » Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:30 am

Brans wrote:My whole point is to avoid another Context Menu which XnShell has. Just for the heck of it I did set XnShell to Open XnViewMP by clicking on the image in the XnShell Context Menu but it's basically the same thing as using Open with.
The Sub-menu setting in the options of the shell extension allows the user to turn off what you call “second context menu”. You have three choices:
  • No sub-menu
  • Sub-menu without preview
  • All
Note that you also have to activate Thumbnail (image) in the Displayed Menu items section of the options dialog.

Brans
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by Brans » Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:28 pm

THANKS A MILLION XnTriq!!!! This is awesome and cool!!! I set it to No sub-menu, with thumbnail. Also, thanks for correcting my terminology. I'll remember it's called a sub-menu, not a second Context Menu LOL!

Pierre, the problem is that when I installed XnShell I thought it would AUTOMATICALLY set it to what it is now per XnTriq's instructions. I had no idea that I had to manually change settings in XnShell for it to recognize XnViewMP so it opens from the Context Menu without using Open with or any sort of sub-menu.

Maybe you can change it so it does it AUTOMATICALLY making sure to leave Options in the Context Menu (as it is now since the manual change) so users changes can be made. I'm sure this would avoid a lot of confusion, especially for non-expert users like me.

Pierre, thanks for the great program! :D

Brans
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by Brans » Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:32 pm

Hi Pierre, I just thought about this. Instead of having XnShell as a separate program, can you make XnShell part of XnViewMP?

My suggestion is to make it so when XnViewMP is installed the default setting adds XnViewMP to the Context Menu so it behaves exactly as it does now after manually changing the settings in XnShell with no sub-menu and thumbnail to open. The below screenshot would be the minimum amount of options displayed as the default. (This is my setting)


Image


However, there is a box or radio button option that will allow the user to not add it to the Context Menu during the installation process.

Please let me know if you will do this. Thanks.

User avatar
budz45
XnThusiast
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: Add XnView To FIRST Context Menu?

Post by budz45 » Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:31 pm

Yes, I have already suggested this :)
budz45 wrote: Topic: http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=19087

Final and latest mock-up: :mrgreen:

Image

btw, the "XnView: Enqueue" would be shown on right-click after mass highlighting of files in explorer/file manager
We already have "Browse with XnViewMP" which works with folders, so we need another separate entry to work with file(s). The entry should also have support for mass-selecting of file's in Win Explorer to right-click them and open them.
All My Topics || my 'MP' Topics
My own Bookmarked topics--->for me only

Post Reply