Print size (Druckgrösse) in Status Bar, browser ...

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh » Sat Oct 06, 2007 12:49 pm

Peter2 wrote:
marsh wrote:...It is placed in status bar with:
Options... Browser>[Browser]Info in status bar: Print Size

There is a column for it with
Menu... View>Columns>Print Size
Thank you - that are the new functions for "list information" which I was looking for.

But: The column stays always empty when I click on a folder and all other information is displayed (name, date, type, ..) The printsize is only activated when I click on the title of the column to sort it.
A feature or a bug?
Files must be scanned to display some kinds of information:
Options... Browser>File List[Misc]: Scan File headers in folders.
(or you could just switch back and forth to a thumbnail view with F9 if you don't want to permanently change option...)

User avatar
Peter2
XnThusiast
Posts: 1124
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: CH

Post by Peter2 » Sat Oct 06, 2007 1:07 pm

marsh wrote:...Files must be scanned to display some kinds of information:
Options... Browser>File List[Misc]: Scan File headers in folders.
On my PC it was and it is set to "Always" - but displays it only in the way I described above.

The size in pixel and colour depth are always displayed - the printsize in cm not ..

Peter
XnView 2.48 German, Win 7 x64 Prof. / Win 10

User avatar
Peter2
XnThusiast
Posts: 1124
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: CH

Post by Peter2 » Mon Oct 08, 2007 10:57 am

marsh wrote:It is placed in status bar with:
Options... Browser>[Browser]Info in status bar: Print Size
...
This is only for the "Browser".

In "View" there are "Display units" with "cm", but in Status bar I can only see the Pixelsize :?:

Peter
XnView 2.48 German, Win 7 x64 Prof. / Win 10

User avatar
Peter2
XnThusiast
Posts: 1124
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: CH

Post by Peter2 » Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:45 pm

I want to reactivate two old items of this theme:
Peter2; 2007-10-06 wrote:But: The column stays always empty when I click on a folder and all other information is displayed (name, date, type, ..) The printsize is only activated when I click on the title of the column to sort it.
A feature or a bug?
Peter2; 2007-10-08 wrote:In "View" there are "Display units" with "cm", but in Status bar I can only see the Pixelsize :?:
I still found this behaviour in 1.93.6. Is it my fault or a bug?

Peter
XnView 2.48 German, Win 7 x64 Prof. / Win 10

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32052
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Fri Jun 20, 2008 8:23 am

Peter2 wrote:I want to reactivate two old items of this theme:
Peter2; 2007-10-06 wrote:But: The column stays always empty when I click on a folder and all other information is displayed (name, date, type, ..) The printsize is only activated when I click on the title of the column to sort it.
A feature or a bug?
In detail view?
Peter2; 2007-10-08 wrote:In "View" there are "Display units" with "cm", but in Status bar I can only see the Pixelsize :?:
I still found this behaviour in 1.93.6. Is it my fault or a bug?
I have cm, but it's used for selection
Pierre.

User avatar
Peter2
XnThusiast
Posts: 1124
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: CH

Post by Peter2 » Fri Jun 20, 2008 10:12 am

xnview wrote:In detail view?
Yes. This is an extract of my detail-list (in german). Printsize is empty:

Code: Select all

Name                   Größe         Eigenschaften       Druckgröße      Typ                           Datum
    B-CONTOURS.TIF     554.76 KB     1952x1211,256                       TIFF                          04.07.2002 12:48
    Blue hills.jpg     27.85 KB      800x600,16M                         JPEG TrueColor (v1.2)         23.08.2001 14:00
    Explorer_Abstu...  73.08 KB      412x157,16M                         Portable Network Graphics     18.02.2008 18:01
    GLOBE.WMF          26.96 KB      438x302,2                           Windows Placeable metafile    11.07.1997 02:00
    GRAY SCALE.TIF     2.76 MB       2367x1557,256                       TIFF                          28.06.2002 15:39
Maybe there is a realtionship with the using of "Cache"? I don?t use it.
xnview wrote:...I have cm, but it's used for selection
OK - I got it. But it is not really clear for the user. It could be extended like "Total printsize: 60 * 40 cm; Selection size: 15 x 12 cm"

Peter
XnView 2.48 German, Win 7 x64 Prof. / Win 10

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32052
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:51 am

Peter2 wrote: Maybe there is a realtionship with the using of "Cache"? I don?t use it.
Yes, it's the problem. i'll check why!
Pierre.

Post Reply