Changing scan DPI with Brother MFC-7340

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
justscanning
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 5:17 am

Changing scan DPI with Brother MFC-7340

Post by justscanning »

With a Brother MFC-7340 and XnView 1.98 beta 2 on Windows 7, I'm trying to increase the DPI from 100 to 300. The 300 DPI setting is accepted and I can do a preview, but when I try the scan I get "An error occurred while setting scanner properties. If another program is scanning, please wait for it to complete and try again."

No other program is using any function of the MFC-7340. Do I need a driver update? 100 DPI is unacceptable for some of my scans. Anyone else scanning with a Brother?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34357
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Changing scan DPI with Brother MFC-7340

Post by xnview »

this error comes from XnView?
Pierre.
justscanning
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 5:17 am

Re: Changing scan DPI with Brother MFC-7340

Post by justscanning »

It certainly appears to come from XnView. But the window is just labeled Scanning and contains that message and an OK button.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34357
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Changing scan DPI with Brother MFC-7340

Post by xnview »

and if you use less than 300?
Pierre.
justscanning
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 5:17 am

Re: Changing scan DPI with Brother MFC-7340

Post by justscanning »

As it is I can't use anything other than the default, 100 DPI. This is inadequate for some purposes, such a a document with small type that I want to be able to reprint.

In any case I think I should be able to set the DPI different from the default
eL_PuSHeR
Posts: 267
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:23 am

Re: Changing scan DPI with Brother MFC-7340

Post by eL_PuSHeR »

Are you sure it's not the scanner driver? Did you check for an update? Did you tried invoking scanner from a different application?
Intel i7 5960X
Gigabye GA-X99-Gaming 5
8 GB DDR4 (2100)
GeForce GTX 970 (Gigabyte)
justscanning
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 5:17 am

Re: Changing scan DPI with Brother MFC-7340

Post by justscanning »

Reloading the scanner driver from the CD fixed it.

Though it would still be good to be able to set a default DPI other that 100.
eL_PuSHeR
Posts: 267
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:23 am

Re: Changing scan DPI with Brother MFC-7340

Post by eL_PuSHeR »

Did you look for a driver update on Brother's homepage?
Intel i7 5960X
Gigabye GA-X99-Gaming 5
8 GB DDR4 (2100)
GeForce GTX 970 (Gigabyte)
Post Reply