[XnView 2.40] Error displaying ppm file

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Aryetis
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:42 pm

[XnView 2.40] Error displaying ppm file

Postby Aryetis » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:53 pm

Hello,

Working on a (basic) raytracer I output my files as .ppm
And for some reason I can open them perfectly using software such as gimp. But when it comes to XnView, depending of the scene/file generated it displays garbage data.

Here's an example of a faulty ppm : https://hijackedbrain.com/data/firstSphere.ppm

Using XnView 2.40, on Windows 10_X64

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 28073
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: [XnView 2.40] Error displaying ppm file

Postby xnview » Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:15 pm

your ppm data contains float values not integer
Pierre.

Aryetis
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:42 pm

Re: [XnView 2.40] Error displaying ppm file

Postby Aryetis » Wed Sep 27, 2017 6:49 pm

Yes my apologies.
I noticed it earlier this morning. I suppose this is not standard behavior and thus should not be encouraged / implemented.
Why gimp allows it is .... debatable.


Return to “Classic - Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests