0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse mode

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
quapurna
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:55 pm
Location: earth (the not-flat one)

0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse mode

Post by quapurna » Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:01 pm

XnViewMP 0.60
Windows7 32
Xubuntu1304

Halo.

In Browse mode:
Menu > View > Preview > Auto Image Size > Fit image to window "/" .

The keyboard button "/" is used as its shortcut.

I want to use that button for zoom-100%, but I do not know how to do so because in the option:
Settings > Interface > Shortcuts > Browse mode
there is no option to modify shortcut for all "Fit image to window…" in Browse mode.
They are available for View mode only.

Thank you.

User avatar
oops66
XnThusiast
Posts: 1999
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:17 am
Location: France

Re: 0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse m

Post by oops66 » Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:48 pm

quapurna wrote:...I want to use that button for zoom-100%...
Hello,
... For 100% zoom try the keyboard button "*" - shortcut.
XnViewMP 0.82 Linux X64 - Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - X64

quapurna
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:55 pm
Location: earth (the not-flat one)

Re: 0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse m

Post by quapurna » Mon Jul 08, 2013 10:11 pm

oops66 wrote:
quapurna wrote:...I want to use that button for zoom-100%...
Hello,
... For 100% zoom try the keyboard button "*" - shortcut.
Thanks.
I know that default one.
On my laptop, I have to use "Shift 8" or "Fn P" to get * since there is no single button for *.
I try to avoid using two buttons (combination).

I want to use "comma", "dot", "slash" for zoom-out, zoom-in, 100% respectively since there are closer.
Perhaps, I should try [ ] and \ .

Back to the issue, can you change/remove the shortcut "/" from the command "Fit image to window" for Browse mode?

User avatar
m.Th.
XnThusiast
Posts: 1583
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:31 am
Contact:

Re: 0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse m

Post by m.Th. » Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:44 am

quapurna wrote:
oops66 wrote:
quapurna wrote:...I want to use that button for zoom-100%...
Hello,
... For 100% zoom try the keyboard button "*" - shortcut.
Thanks.
I know that default one.
On my laptop, I have to use "Shift 8" or "Fn P" to get * since there is no single button for *.
I try to avoid using two buttons (combination).

I want to use "comma", "dot", "slash" for zoom-out, zoom-in, 100% respectively since there are closer.
Perhaps, I should try [ ] and \ .

Back to the issue, can you change/remove the shortcut "/" from the command "Fit image to window" for Browse mode?
Istm, you cannot. Perhaps is better to ask Pierre to add it to the the shortcuts list. There are also other key combinations missing...
m. Th.

The Ascetic Experience - The best photos and texts from Holy Mountain (Athos)

- Dark Themed XnViewMP 0.90 64bit & XnView 2.00 x64 on Win7 x64 -

quapurna
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:55 pm
Location: earth (the not-flat one)

Re: 0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse m

Post by quapurna » Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:22 pm

Halo, m.Th.

Thanks for the confirmation.
I thought it was only on my laptop.

I hope Pierre has read this thread.

Thanks.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32708
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse m

Post by xnview » Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:24 pm

Why you can't change default key for 'zoom 100%'??
Pierre.

User avatar
m.Th.
XnThusiast
Posts: 1583
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:31 am
Contact:

Re: 0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse m

Post by m.Th. » Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:29 am

xnview wrote:Why you can't change default key for 'zoom 100%'??

Istm the OP is asking about "Fit image to window" in Browse mode - the "/" shortcut which isn't present in the Shortcuts table (not about 100% which is indeed the '*')

And because we're here can you add there the following shortcuts?

Rate 1 Star
Rate 2 Stars
Rate 3 Stars
Rate 4 Stars
Rate 5 Stars

...the industry standard is to have to these commands assigned the keys '1', '2', ... '5'.

The same stands for the colors:

Mark Red
Mark Yellow
Mark Green
Mark Blue
Mark Purple

...and a very very very useful idea from Lightroom are the "... & Next" shortcuts:

Rate 1 Star & Move to next image
Rate 2 Stars & Move to next image
...aso.
m. Th.

The Ascetic Experience - The best photos and texts from Holy Mountain (Athos)

- Dark Themed XnViewMP 0.90 64bit & XnView 2.00 x64 on Win7 x64 -

quapurna
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:55 pm
Location: earth (the not-flat one)

Re: 0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse m

Post by quapurna » Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:09 pm

xnview wrote:Why you can't change default key for 'zoom 100%'??
Halo, Pierre.

As m.Th has confirmed, I want to remove the shortcut "/" from the command "Fit image to window" in Browse mode (Preview pane).
I want to use "/" for "Zoom100%"


Further Question:
If a shortcut has been assigned for a command (default or custom) and then you assign the same shortcut for another command, how XnViewMP should behave?
Should the older assignment be automatically aborted and the shortcut be assigned to the new commad ?
Should a confirmation appear for this condition ?

Thanks.

User avatar
m.Th.
XnThusiast
Posts: 1583
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:31 am
Contact:

Re: 0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse m

Post by m.Th. » Thu Jul 11, 2013 7:54 am

If a shortcut has been assigned for a command (default or custom) and then you assign the same shortcut for another command, how XnViewMP should behave?
In the worst mode possible: Neither the first neither the second command will work anymore.

In order to make things work again, you must:
1. Remove all but one the conflicting shortcuts
2. Restart the program
Should the older assignment be automatically aborted and the shortcut be assigned to the new commad ?
From usability POV, this can happen only when we have layered keyboard shortcuts. Here we'll have, I hope, for the keywords / categories.

Dictionary:
layered keyboard shortcuts = the current keyscan combination is searched first in the shortcuts table for categories and if no match is encountered, then it will be searched in the lower layer (the actual layer for Browse mode).



But also in this case a message saying...

Code: Select all

The shortcut "Ctr+Bar" hides the same shortcut for the command "Baz".

    {Ok}
...it would be a very welcomed addition.


But if we speak about the same keyboard layer (IOW two shortcuts conflicting in the Browse mode) then nope. It is a human decision. The program must inform you even with a simple...

Code: Select all

The shortcut 'Ctrl+Foo' is already assigned to the command "Blah".
Do you want to remove it from there and assign it here?

                               {Yes}  {No}
Should a confirmation appear for this condition ?
Yes, IMHO - see above.

To be fairly sincere, there are programs which automagically hide all but one shortcut but then it is a little bit fuzzy which command is run (IOW which shortcut win). Sometimes the one which wins is the latest shortcut, in other programs is the one which has the command first in alphabetical order (ie. the lookup list is sorted alphabetically by cmd name), and in others the list is simply unsorted and the first cmd wins.
m. Th.

The Ascetic Experience - The best photos and texts from Holy Mountain (Athos)

- Dark Themed XnViewMP 0.90 64bit & XnView 2.00 x64 on Win7 x64 -

quapurna
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:55 pm
Location: earth (the not-flat one)

Re: 0.60: Shortcut setting "Fit image to window" in Browse m

Post by quapurna » Thu Jul 11, 2013 4:54 pm

Thanks, m.Th, for the clear explanation.

I see that VLC popups a good warning dialogue for that condition.
e.g. I try to set "f" for "Faster" while "f" is already assigned for "Fullscreen"

----------
(dialogue title)
"Hotkey for Faster"
(dialogue contents)
Key: f
Warning: the key is already assigned to "Fullscreen"
[OK].....[Cancel]
----------

If I click [OK], the button "f" will be assigned for "Faster" and the "Fullscreen" will have "Unset" value.

I think it nice.

Thanks
.

Post Reply