0.61: Zoom to selected area

*** Please report new bugs here! ***

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview, Dreamer

User avatar
CreativeWorld
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:08 pm

0.61: Zoom to selected area

Post by CreativeWorld »

All versions incl 0.61:
When you select an area to zoom. If it is wider than it is high it zooms ok but if the selected area is higher than it is wide it just zooms to the width which does not display much of the selected area.

Can there also be an option to select and then left click on selected area to zoom same as ACDSee ?
User avatar
CreativeWorld
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:08 pm

Re: [BUG] All versions incl 0.61 Zoom to selected area

Post by CreativeWorld »

If this can be made the same or better than ACDSee view mode I can finally move all clients from ACDSee and I will be so happy as ACDSee is so slow.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38817
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: [BUG] All versions incl 0.61 Zoom to selected area

Post by xnview »

could you show me with screenshot?
Pierre.
User avatar
CreativeWorld
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:08 pm

Re: [BUG] All versions incl 0.61 Zoom to selected area

Post by CreativeWorld »

What steps will reproduce the problem?
1. hold down ctrl and left mousebutton drag a short and wide (for example 400x100) zoom selection,
then release the left mousebutton, notice that the zoomed in area is based on the width.
2. zoom back out to 100%
3. hold down ctrl and left mousebutton drag a tall and thin (for example 100x400) zoom selection,
then release the left mousebutton, notice that this zoomed in area also is based on the width.

here's a video showing what happens

http://videobin.org/+70c/8wl.html


What is the expected result?
The ctrl + left drag zoomed in area should be based on the larger of the height or width,
so that a 100x400 zoom area should be based on the height,
while a 400x100 zoom area should be based on the width.


What happens instead?
The ctrl + left drag zoomed in area is always based on the width,
both a 100x400 and 400x100 zoom area are based on the width.
User avatar
helmut
Moderator
Posts: 8688
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: [BUG] All versions incl 0.61 Zoom to selected area

Post by helmut »

CreativeWorld wrote:... The ctrl + left drag zoomed in area should be based on the larger of the height or width ...
Makes sense to me but your "rule" should be refined, I think.
Rule: When zooming to selection the whole selection should fit into the window.

Consequently both selected height and selected width plus windows height and window width should be taken into account for zoom calculation. The zoom should be set to
zoom := minimum(selection width/window width * 100; selection height/window height * 100)

Side Note: Until now I knew "Zoom to selected area" only with these steps:
1. Select an area with the mouse.
2. Press Ctrl key (and keep it pressed) and then left click into the selected area.
I'm wondering whether "Zoom to selected area" with Ctrl + Drag is supported by XnView on purpose.
User avatar
CreativeWorld
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 7:08 pm

Re: [BUG] All versions incl 0.61 Zoom to selected area

Post by CreativeWorld »

xnview wrote:could you show me with screenshot?
Image
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38817
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.61: Zoom to selected area

Post by xnview »

Pierre.