[Solved] Crop tool - Cannot adjust selection size

*** Please report new bugs here! ***

Moderator: Dreamer

machuca
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:54 am

[Solved] Crop tool - Cannot adjust selection size

Postby machuca » Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:07 am

XnView MP Windows
Version 0.86 64bits (Apr 25 2017)
My system: Win10 Pro 64 bit

When I try to crop free, there isn't any window for croping. I tried to do it using the box above, for example a quadrat of 100 x 100 pix. The window apear. Trying to increase it, but this isn't possible. I put the grabber and than I can see the dobble arrow, but I cannot increase or decrease the window. Is fixed.
Croping is very basical, so please help. In the moment I use the old xnview for this...
Last edited by machuca on Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 28073
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: cannot crop free

Postby xnview » Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:53 pm

Use mouse to draw your selection to crop it, like XnView Classic
Pierre.

machuca
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:54 am

Re: cannot crop free

Postby machuca » Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:11 pm

I cannot use the mouse, it doesn't work. There is no rectangel. I can use the fixed windows, but when I try to change this windows - to make it greater or smaler, it isn't possible although, its fixed. Sorry, I have no idea, why, but without cropping...
Any idea?

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: cannot crop free

Postby cday » Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:29 pm

machuca wrote:I cannot use the mouse, it doesn't work. There is no rectangle. I can use the fixed windows, but when I try to change this windows - to make it greater or smaler, it isn't possible although, its fixed. Sorry, I have no idea, why, but without cropping...
Any idea?

You are really working without a mouse and can't obtain another, or is that a misunderstanding??

machuca
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:54 am

Re: cannot crop free

Postby machuca » Fri Jul 14, 2017 5:36 am

I understand, that you can believe, but I use your programm since years and yes, its in the moment not possible.
I made a film with a screenrecorder: http://www.fotomesh.de/tmp/cannotcut.webm

The files aren't writeprotected or special formated, only jpgs...

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 28073
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: cannot crop free

Postby xnview » Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:06 am

You are the first user with this problem...
what do you have in Settings>Interface? And if you don't use the Crop toolbar?
Pierre.

machuca
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:54 am

Re: cannot crop free

Postby machuca » Fri Jul 14, 2017 6:39 pm

I hope that there aren't many others... :wink:
OK here my settings:
Image
and when I try to edit directly the zoom of the picture start:
http://www.fotomesh.de/tmp/cropping2.webm

Edit:
just found that I can crop with the left mousebutton + ctrl!
Thats the first way!
But I cannot change the window :(

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: cannot crop free

Postby cday » Fri Jul 14, 2017 7:18 pm

machuca wrote:
I just found that I can crop with the left mouse button + ctrl!
Thats the first way!
But I cannot change the window :(

Good that you have now a useable workaround! :D

You might look at this setting which is possibly the reason that you are unable to change the selection size when using the Crop tool... :?:


Clipboard01.jpg

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Crop tool - Cannot adjust selection size

Postby cday » Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:49 pm

Regarding settings:

If you are able to discover a setting or combination of settings that causes the problem you described with the Crop tool, it could help Pierre identify a possible previously unreported bug...

machuca
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Crop tool - Cannot adjust selection size

Postby machuca » Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:44 pm

It works!
I changed the value of the mouse left button in Interface/Mouse from "Move picture" to "Make selection" and now all is OK!
It works although inside the crop tool, and I can now change the window. Perfect.
Thanks a lot for the fast help and for the great programm of course!

cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: [Solved] Crop tool - Cannot adjust selection size

Postby cday » Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:42 pm

Please see this new thread:

When selections can't be modified


Return to “New”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest