Batch Despeckle?

XnConvert Multi Platform - Windows, MacOSX, Linux

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

bdragon

Batch Despeckle?

Post by bdragon »

Okay, is it already there?
lately i've been asking for stuff that was already there so this time i'm directly asking if i can't see the obvious again.
cday
XnThusiast

Re: Batch Despeckle?

Post by cday »

bdragon wrote:Okay, is it already there?
lately i've been asking for stuff that was already there so this time i'm directly asking if i can't see the obvious again.
You try the Filter > Reduce noise action, although the setting isn't adjustable, and I have no personal experience of using it; you might also if necessary test some of the other filter options, although it seems unlikely any would actually be useful...
bdragon

Post by bdragon »

it appears to work only on very low resolution scans/pictures, and the appearance chance is not very noticeable. I don't know f this is intentional to avoid unditting "i"s :D
cday
XnThusiast

Post by cday »

bdragon wrote:it appears to work only on very low resolution scans/pictures, and the appearance chance is not very noticeable. I don't know f this is intentional to avoid unditting "i"s :D
Commercial OCR software generally have despeckle functions as does Nuance PaperPort, which could be a lower cost route to obtaining the function if you don't need heavyweight OCR.

If you are comfortable using the command line, the obvious answer is ImageMagick which supports despeckle in its very extensive function set.
bdragon

Post by bdragon »

First: this is the forum for XnConvert. I already knew about those softwares, i was asking specifically of this.

Also what i ask is not "making coffee" or other things unrelated to the scope of the original software. So it might already be there as it happened with several requests i asked in the past, only i did not know they had different names.

Yes i don't scans extensively, only about once or twice a month.