keep thumbnail cache

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

budafuco
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 1:39 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by budafuco » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:37 am

Checked, set correct. Thanks. I imagine going back to xnview might be best for now.

Erixx haxx
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 10:37 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by Erixx haxx » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:09 am

budafuco wrote:Checked, set correct. Thanks. I imagine going back to xnview might be best for now.
I have not personally had this happen, but a few more things you can try are:

-Rename the thumb.db file, restart and see if Xnviewmp can recreate a new file.
-Rename your .ini file, restart and see if default settings fix the issue. (Help>> about will show where this file is.)
-Grab the portable version and extract it in another location, Keep settings so that .ini and .db files all stay within xmviewmp folder.

tylenolthumb
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:14 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by tylenolthumb » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:29 am

I think this is computer specific. I got a new computer and it works perfectly.

torawind
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:43 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by torawind » Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:55 am

Hi!

I have same issue.
XnviewMP on my computer doesn't create any .db files.

Catalog - Enable Catalog and Enable thumbnail caching are on. Unticked maximum size for cached thumbnails.
I've changed the base path of my pictures. But it should be able to write to that folder.

XnView MP Windows
Version 0.93.1 64bits (Mar 6 2019)
Libformat version 7.30
OS - windows 10 pro 1903

I had been using xnview in the past few years, and it didn't have this problem.
Please, help.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31891
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by xnview » Mon Sep 02, 2019 3:25 pm

torawind wrote:
Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:55 am
XnviewMP on my computer doesn't create any .db files.
how do you have configured .db folder?
Pierre.

torawind
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:43 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by torawind » Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:31 pm

I am sorry. i don't understand what you mean. Where do i look that up?
Thank you for replying!
Attachments
rhtrhrt.JPG
hrehrt.JPG

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31891
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by xnview » Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:53 pm

why basepath is \temp\xnviewmp?
Pierre.

torawind
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:43 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by torawind » Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:52 am

What should be there?
I just thought its a path where to store db files. I'm changing it now to different folders and deleting it entirely, leaving only "\". Closing and opening the program after each change. Doesn't make any difference.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31891
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by xnview » Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:25 pm

no, it's the base path of your image gallery. basically it's /
Pierre.

User avatar
m.Th.
XnThusiast
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:31 am
Contact:

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by m.Th. » Mon Sep 09, 2019 7:29 am

torawind wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:52 am
What should be there?
I just thought its a path where to store db files. I'm changing it now to different folders and deleting it entirely, leaving only "\". Closing and opening the program after each change. Doesn't make any difference.
Pierre is right. There (usually) should be „/” (or „\”) :)

FTR, in order to find your Database files go to Tools \ Settings \ Integration and click on the Paths tab.
There click on the „Open the Catalog Location” in order to see your DBs. You can configure this location with the widgets on that pane.
m. Th.

The Ascetic Experience - The best photos and texts from Holy Mountain (Athos)

- Dark Themed XnViewMP 0.90 64bit & XnView 2.00 x64 on Win7 x64 -

torawind
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:43 am

Re: keep thumbnail cache

Post by torawind » Fri Sep 13, 2019 3:42 am

Thanks m.Th.!
That fixed it.
As I said changing Base path to "\" had no effect.
But when I checked Integration settings to see where are my catalog paths, it just showed me This PC (explorer showing me my disks)
Seems like the default folder for installation, Program files. doesn't have a permit to write.
I changed location for the catalog and thumbnails to custom path and now .db files have generated.

Hope it will help someone.

Post Reply