name of external drive in different computers

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

alobo
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:24 pm

name of external drive in different computers

Postby alobo » Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:33 am

I have moved the folder xnviewmp (including the *.db files) to my
synced Google Drive folder and I can successfully use xnviewmp from
different computers once I put the correct settings.
Nevertheless, the problem is that while I can search and see the thumbnails correctly,
the information on the actual location is different for different computers because
the same external drive gets different names. For example, for a given picture I have
the following path in xnviewmp:
\Volumes\LACIE1TB\FOTOS\20160800_OSOS\
while windows sees that path as
D:\fotos\20160800_osos

Therefore, while I can see the thumbnail, I cannot open the picture.

Is there a solution? If not, could this problem be addressed in future versions?

Thanks

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 27913
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: name of external drive in different computers

Postby xnview » Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:03 am

If the base path of your pictures folder are not the same, you should use 'base path' settings>catalog
Pierre.

alobo
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:24 pm

Re: name of external drive in different computers

Postby alobo » Wed Jul 19, 2017 6:05 pm

xnview wrote:If the base path of your pictures folder are not the same, you should use 'base path' settings>catalog


I do not understand: What should I write in in the box named "Base path of your pictures"?
Should I write 'base path'?
or /Volumes/LACIET1B/FOTOS which is where my fotos live?

At this moment I have "/", which should be the default.

Is it possible to define a relative path? (relative to where xnview program lives?)

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 27913
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: name of external drive in different computers

Postby xnview » Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:39 pm

if your photos are all on /Volumes/LACIET1B/FOTOS on your first computer, yes
and on your second computer, if for example, you use /Volumes/OTHER/FOTOS, enter this path in base path
Pierre.

CameronD
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:28 pm
Location: Australia

Re: name of external drive in different computers

Postby CameronD » Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:12 am

xnview wrote:if your photos are all on /Volumes/LACIET1B/FOTOS on your first computer, yes
and on your second computer, if for example, you use /Volumes/OTHER/FOTOS, enter this path in base path


Maybe I don't understand how BasePath works, but I thought if the first PC had not started with the defined basepath then all original folders in the DB would start with /Volumes/LACIET1B/FOTOS/, so no matter what base path is assigned on the second PC it will never find the existing images.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 27913
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: name of external drive in different computers

Postby xnview » Sun Jul 23, 2017 4:06 pm

BasePath is to use relative path for the folder of your photos
Pierre.

CameronD
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:28 pm
Location: Australia

Re: name of external drive in different computers

Postby CameronD » Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:15 am

xnview wrote:BasePath is to use relative path for the folder of your photos

I understand that much, but I thought that the BasePath mechanism only works if the original PC has the base path defined at the time the DB entry for the folder is created.
I think if you only change basePath on the second PC then it will not find any entries already created.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 27913
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: name of external drive in different computers

Postby xnview » Mon Jul 24, 2017 10:56 am

CameronD wrote:
xnview wrote:BasePath is to use relative path for the folder of your photos

I understand that much, but I thought that the BasePath mechanism only works if the original PC has the base path defined at the time the DB entry for the folder is created.
I think if you only change basePath on the second PC then it will not find any entries already created.

yes you need to change it only the first time, before to create thumbnails
Pierre.


Return to “MP - General Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests