Problem with automatic levels and automatic contrast

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

zan1964
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:00 pm

Problem with automatic levels and automatic contrast

Postby zan1964 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:29 pm

Hello Everybody,

I'm a new user of XnViewMP (previously I have used the classic version during several years) and have found the following problem when using the auto levels and auto contrast tools. This is the sequence of the operations:

- I adjust the pictures (TIFF format) by using another software;
- Then I load the pictures (one by one) with XnViewMP and apply auto levels and/or auto contrast;
- I save the files adjusted as described above;
- I close XnViewMP;
- Then, when I reopen XnViewMP and look at the pictures I see that the auto levels and auto contrast modifications haven't been saved (the pictures look as if I wouldn't apply said changes to the files).

If I repeat the operations I get the same result. Do you have any idea of what I'm eventually doing wrong? Or is it a bug that maybe somebody else have found?
I have installed the software on a PC running with Windows 10.

Thank you very much in advance.

Paolo

zan1964
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:00 pm

Re: Problem with automatic levels and automatic contrast

Postby zan1964 » Wed Aug 30, 2017 4:53 pm

I have seen that the pictures that appear not modified after the application of auto contrast and auto levels are displayed correctly (therefore showing the application of auto contrast and auto levels) if opened with XnView classic.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 27888
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Problem with automatic levels and automatic contrast

Postby xnview » Wed Aug 30, 2017 6:47 pm

could you send me the original file and result?
Pierre.

zan1964
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:00 pm

Re: Problem with automatic levels and automatic contrast

Postby zan1964 » Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:09 pm

I can't send the original file as I have already modified and saved it. However, I can send you the final file that looks different in MP in comparison of how it looks in the classic software. If I load it with MP it seems that I can apply the auto contrast again while in the classic version the auto contrast looks already applied (as it should look). It happens on my screen, at least. I wonder if it could be a bug of my system...
it is a tiff file (nearly 70 Mb) how can I share it with you?

Paolo


Return to “MP - General Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests