How to set up a library, display as folders, and filter by tags?

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Lee James

How to set up a library, display as folders, and filter by tags?

Postby Lee James » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:34 pm

Please could someone help me?

I've been using XnView for a few years, but my photo collection is now huge and I really want to start tagging all my photos. I also want to be able to browse my entire photo collection as a library that I can filter by tags. This will give me a lot more control over my photo collection than having to navigate through folders.

So here is how I want it to work...

1. I assign a folder as a library. XnView scans the folder and builds a database of everything contained in it.
  2. Now I can view the library in the thumbnail browser - it shows every single subfolder containing images. (Note, I don't want it to show photos, only containing folders.)
  3. In the corner of the screen, there's a "tags" panel which shows all the tags contained within the current library or sub-folder.
  4. If I select a tag (or multiple tags by Ctrl+clicking), the results are filtered down by the tags. (Still only folders are shown, not images.)

So, for example, I have all my personal photos in a folder called "Personal photos". In there, I have a subfolder for every year (2003, 2004, 2005 etc). In each year's folder, I have one folder for every session (eg "2004-11-04 Holiday With Dad"). So in total I have hundreds of folders containing photos. I want to be able to make all those folders appear in the thumbnail browser at once - and then when I click on tags, the results are filtered. (e.g., if I click on the "John" tag, it will only display folders containing photos tagged with "John".)

Can this be done in XnView?

michel038

Re: How to set up a library, display as folders, and filter by tags?

Postby michel038 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:29 pm