Problem with rating

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

Tschens

Problem with rating

Post by Tschens »

Hello,
This is my first posting here. I am an underwater photographer and started to categorize my pics recently. XnView fulfills my needs perfectly, it is much much faster than Capture One and complements my workflow to perfection. Thanks for this excellent piece of software!

However, I have the following problem:
Although some pics are NOT yet rated using XnViewMP, they are shown in the 5*-List when I activate the 5* category filter (also the small violet 5*-Logo above the pic is NOT shown). Obviously, the pics were already rated earlier by lightroom, Capture One or whatever. All these files have in commonn that they are jpg files and show the small XMP "Logo" unter the thumbnail. How can I remove that in order to re-rate them correctly? I already searched for xmp files and erased them all, but the pics still are shown as 5*.
Thx a lot for any help.
Jens

edit: I just realized that my problem only exists when I use the category filter in the left hand quick access menu (category filter). When I choose it from the upper menu (in German: "Ansicht/Filtern/5* Sehr Gut"), it works perfectly fine. Is it a bug or a feature? :-)
Olympus OMD E-M1, BS Kinetics underwater housing, 2xSubtronic pro 160 flashes. Zuiko mFT lenses: 60 macro, 7-14, 8 mm fisheye, 12-100, PanaLeica 100-400.
My Homepage | My book at Amazon
Tschens

Re: Problem with rating

Post by Tschens »

I think it is a bug. I could get rid of some wrong rated files by klicking "view/update calalog from files" und "view/update files from catalog."