learning metadata storage methods for category/comment

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

TyMay

learning metadata storage methods for category/comment

Post by TyMay »

I am new to xnview and wanting to understand which types of user defined metadata are stored external without requiring embedding within each image file.
Comments are user derived and have a foot print in the "descript.ion" file for each folder known to xnview.
Comments seem to be created only through the Rclick context of thumbnails within Browser View "EditComment"
In the SearchTool Comments are searchable by the Add Menu but are called "Embedded Comments" after selection
Is that a misnomer?
I have not found a search input dialog that successfully pulls an image into the browser based on comment tag in "descript.ion"
Is it fair to say that comments are never written into the embedded metadata of an image?
These comments by sidecar file are not the same as the comment field in

CATEGORY
I have successfully forced category writes into IPTC and XMP fields but in my cataloging I would like to avoid writing into these image embedded regions
CATEGORY(Not embedded)
I notice this excellent Category Manager tool in the Browser displaying Categoriies and Sets which can be toggled on tree menu.
If I toggle the category for a thumbnail it retains the tagged setting for that thumbnail e ven after exit restart XnView despite the absence of any display of IPTC or XMP tabs in the general viewer for embedded metadata.
This leads me to believe there is at least temporary storage for Category "Manager" metadata external to the target image files.
Is this a correct deduction?
If so where/how is the category data stored (not in descripti,ion sidecar file)?
Is this a viable long term storage scheme for someone who wants to avoid writing organizational data into original image files?