Option to run the "Quick slideshow" as fast as images can be decoded

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Tm42Dr61
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:35 pm

Option to run the "Quick slideshow" as fast as images can be decoded

Post by Tm42Dr61 » Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:02 pm

I'd like to suggest having an option for the "Quick slideshow" to display images as fast as XNViewMP can fully decode them, rather than at fixed intervals.

Or alternatively an option to delay showing the next image until it's fully decoded - that is slow down automatically if images can't be decoded fast enough to match the delay set.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31006
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Option to run the "Quick slideshow" as fast as images can be decoded

Post by xnview » Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:40 pm

You talk about XnView MP not XnView Classic?
Pierre.

Tm42Dr61
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:35 pm

Re: Option to run the "Quick slideshow" as fast as images can be decoded

Post by Tm42Dr61 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:42 pm

Yep, I'm using "XnViewMP 0.92 x64" to be specific.

Actually I thought MP stood for MultiProcessing and classic wasn't being developed any longer.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31006
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Option to run the "Quick slideshow" as fast as images can be decoded

Post by xnview » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:59 am

and if you try 0 as delay?
Pierre.

Tm42Dr61
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:35 pm

Re: Option to run the "Quick slideshow" as fast as images can be decoded

Post by Tm42Dr61 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 1:18 pm

Ah, that never occurred to me. It's a bit faster, but it still seems to be showing all the images in a blurred, half decoded state. This keep happening until I get the delay up around 220 ms. then I get almost a 100 % crisp clear images.

Of course I don't actually know that the blurred images are partially decoded, could perhaps be from resizing for the screen or something else instead.

Post Reply