Configuring External Editor

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
Amnesiac
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:19 pm
Location: London

Configuring External Editor

Post by Amnesiac » Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:40 pm

Hi,

I would like to run XnView on my Win10 and OSX workstations on both of which I am running Affinity Photo which is my photo editing tool.

On OSX XnView I have Affinity Photo (AP) as the first item in the TOOLS->OPEN WITH list, and when I configure the XNVIEW->PREFERENCES>BROWSER->FILE LIST->CUSTOM FILTER and select "images" open with "Associated program" then when I double click on an image in preview or thumbnails the file is opened in AP. This is the perfect behaviour for my workflow and muscle memory.

On Windows 10 Pro I have Affinity Photo (AP) as the first item in the TOOLS->OPEN WITH list, and when I configure the TOOLS->SETTINGS>BROWSER->FILE LIST->CUSTOM FILTER and select "images" open with "Associated program" then when I double click on an image in preview or thumbnails the file is opened but not in AP it's opened in ACDSee which is the default viewer app in Windows but not the default editor (which I've made to be AP in the appropriate registry key).

How in Windows 10 can I make XnView open from Preview or thumbnails files for editing in the selected external editing tool by default. I know I can press F-Keys and OpenWith, but that's not what I want to do so please don't suggest that. I just want to know if I can get the behaviour I'm seeing on OSX on Win10 and what I need to tweak to get it to do so, as it's entirely possible that I changed something else inadvertently in OSX that makes it work how I want it, and I've not done that in Win10.

Thank you all in advance and thanks to the developers for providing such awesome software for free to us home users.

A.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33425
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Configuring External Editor

Post by xnview » Tue Jul 21, 2020 11:47 am

"Associated program" doesn't use the first entry of 'Open With' but the system default associated program
Pierre.

User avatar
Amnesiac
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:19 pm
Location: London

Re: Configuring External Editor

Post by Amnesiac » Tue Jul 21, 2020 5:25 pm

Merci pour votre réponse; J'écrirai en anglais parce que mon français est très mauvais!

Does this mean that it uses the edit or view associated program?

I guess I am looking for it to use the edit association (which I have set to be Affinity Photo) but I think it's using the system view one, which isn't the behaviour that I'd like unfortunately.

I don't suppose there is any way of setting that?

Thanks again.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33425
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Configuring External Editor

Post by xnview » Thu Jul 23, 2020 6:18 am

you need to associate AP as default editor
Pierre.

Post Reply