Category/Keyword in multiple heirarchies?

*** Please report new bugs here! ***

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview, Dreamer

gimik

Category/Keyword in multiple heirarchies?

Post by gimik »

Hi, I am new to xnview and evaluating for use in tagging imagery (specifically, quicktime movies).

One powerful aspect of tags would be the ability to locate the tag within multiple heirarchies, e.g. the keyword "rain" might exist within parent "liquid" or parent "weather" such that someone browsing could find the same category in either place.

At first glance, it appears keywords are represented by their full heirarchy in that testing a keyword category under multiple parents, Xnview treats them as different keywords. Is there a setting that would make it so xnview sees keywords as the same no matter where they show in the heirarchy?

Thanks!
Greg
xnview
Author of XnView

Re: Category/Keyword in multiple heirarchies?

Post by xnview »

if you have same keyword but multiple times with different parent, they are different
Pierre.
gimik

Post by gimik »

Thank you for the reply, Pierre!

This limitation makes tagging not much different than organizing in folders... Is there any specification out there that would allow the same keyword to be represented under multiple parents? This is really powerful for organization and finding what you need no matter what category you might “guess” like in the example above.
xnview
Author of XnView

Post by xnview »

gimik wrote: Sat May 22, 2021 4:49 pm Thank you for the reply, Pierre!
You want to select for example 'rain' under 'liquid' or 'weather' and have all files for these 2 nodes?
Pierre.
gimik

Post by gimik »

Yes, essentially files tagged “rain” would be the same files no matter if rain is nested under “liquid” or under “weather”, or both.

In this way common images become more discoverable and dynamically organizable.
xnview
Author of XnView

Post by xnview »