Catalogue switches arbitrarily between two versions [Mac]

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

MikeDH
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2022 10:28 am

Catalogue switches arbitrarily between two versions [Mac]

Post by MikeDH »

Hi folks,

I encounter a very strange phenomenon in XnView: Whenever I launch it on my Mac it will show me a Catalogue (as expected), but it arbitrarily seems to switch between two versions of the Catalogue. I wasn't even aware that I had two versions, but it seems to be the case.

To get this phenomenon under control I need your help. I'm not sure whether automatically switching the Catalogue is a bug or a feature. I am doing always the same: Just opening the XnView application. For me it's extremely annoying and messes up my Catalogue.

First of all, I'd like to know where these Catalogue DB file(s) reside. I used the option under <Settings><Integration><Paths><Folder for Catalogue.db><Open the Catalogue Location> and found that the .db file resides on my hard disk under <username><.xnviewmp>.

However, the strange thing is that when XnView shows me the other Catalogue version, the settings option points to exactly the same Catalogue.db location. Isn't that strange?


Maybe it helps to provide some additional background information:


I have been using XnView MP several years ago and wanted to process a bunch of new pictures now. In the meantime, my hardware changed and I started using XnView on a new Mac without thinking too much of the existing Catalogue from the past. Mainly because I had migrated the user environment to the new Mac and the image files that had been processed in the past reside on a NAS, which is still the same. Let's call it NAS1.

The pictures I wanted to process now reside on a different NAS, let's call it NAS2. When I opened XnView a few days ago for the first time after years, I was asked to provide access to pictures on NAS1, which I did. I was also asked to provide access to NAS2, which I did as well.

Then I noticed that some Catalogue items were not as I wanted them now and started to add / delete several items when I processed the new pictures on NAS2. And I also reprocessed some pictures on NAS1 to ensure that their Catalogue entries are in line with the changes I made to the Catalogue. While doing this, XnView crashed 3-4 times. It started up easily again and I provided a crash report every time. So far so good. But after a while I was wondering that some changes I made to the Catalogue didn't seem to be stored properly. Maybe because of the recent crashes, I thought.

Only today I found out that I arbitrarily get different versions of the Catalogue whenever I open XnView, even if there had been no crashes in-between.

Trust you understand that I am looking for help. What would you suggest I could do to get this under control?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38828
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Catalogue switches arbitrarily between two versions [Mac]

Post by xnview »

MikeDH wrote: Thu Sep 15, 2022 11:07 am To get this phenomenon under control I need your help. I'm not sure whether automatically switching the Catalogue is a bug or a feature. I am doing always the same: Just opening the XnView application. For me it's extremely annoying and messes up my Catalogue.
XnView doesn't show the catalog but the content of your folders, catalog is only used to store some information & thumbnail
First of all, I'd like to know where these Catalogue DB file(s) reside. I used the option under <Settings><Integration><Paths><Folder for Catalogue.db><Open the Catalogue Location> and found that the .db file resides on my hard disk under <username><.xnviewmp>.

However, the strange thing is that when XnView shows me the other Catalogue version, the settings option points to exactly the same Catalogue.db location. Isn't that strange?
What do you means by 'other catalog version'?
Pierre.