XCF layers not shown correctly

Older bugs which are supposed to be fixed in 0.84. *** Please try to reproduce your bug and confirm the bug fix. ***

Moderator: Dreamer

Post Reply
kentavv
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 4:46 pm

XCF layers not shown correctly

Post by kentavv »

With XnView MP 0.96.2 on Windows 10:
With multilayer Gimp XCF files: neither the visibility setting of a layer nor the layer's mask are respected when showing the image in XnView. The following video shows this. (It also shows that pressing Esc when in fullscreen mode creates a second thumbnail view of XnView.)

https://youtu.be/0u3wvWBBh-Q
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33862
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XCF layers not shown correctly

Post by xnview »

could you send me a sample file?
Pierre.
kentavv
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 4:46 pm

Re: XCF layers not shown correctly

Post by kentavv »

Please find the example attached. The forum would not allow .xcf files so the expected png and the source xcf are in a zip file. Might need to do Crtl-H in XnView on the PNG file. The problem is present in 0.96.4. Let me know if I can help more. Thank you
Attachments
gimp_example.zip
(31.37 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33862
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XCF layers not shown correctly

Post by xnview »

:bugconfirmed: Thanks to your detailed description I can reproduce the problem.
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33862
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XCF layers not shown correctly

Post by xnview »

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.96.5. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.
Gwenael Q.
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:06 am
Location: Martinique

Re: XCF layers not shown correctly

Post by Gwenael Q. »

Hello,

Seems that things are better but not yet perfect.

- Visibility toggle of layer is now properly handled in preview and viewer mode but not in thumbnail window
- Partial opacity is not well handled

Please note that displayed images in thumbnail and preview/viewer mode are very different.

Please find a little more complete exemple file attached.
Xnviewmp test 2.zip
(107.38 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
thank you for listening

Version 0.96.5 64bits
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33862
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XCF layers not shown correctly

Post by xnview »

when using 'use embedded thumbnail', it try to load the composed image data, not layers
Pierre.
Gwenael Q.
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:06 am
Location: Martinique

Re: XCF layers not shown correctly

Post by Gwenael Q. »

I sincerelly don't understand

I went to "F12 > Thumbnails > Misc" then deactivated "Use embedded thumbnail ", then came back to the folder with the above xcf test file and did "View > rebuild thumbnails".

No changes. That seems logical to me.

What is not is :
it try to load the composed image data, not layers
Composed images should'nt be the "sum" (blending) of layers ??? So why should preview and thumbnail be different ?

Thank you for listening

0.97.0 x64 on windows 8.1 x64
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33862
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XCF layers not shown correctly

Post by xnview »

in XCF, you have a merged image (that i use for thumbnails)
Pierre.
Gwenael Q.
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:06 am
Location: Martinique

Re: XCF layers not shown correctly

Post by Gwenael Q. »

Hello Pierre,

I said previously :
"I went to "F12 > Thumbnails > Misc" then deactivated "Use embedded thumbnail ", then came back to the folder with the above xcf test file and did "View > rebuild thumbnails". No changes.
There were no changes because i had to add a "View > refresh" step... (Couldn't this refresh be automatic when user does a rebuild thumbnails ?).

With this new step the thumbnail image changes and thumbnail, preview and view mode now display the same thing wich is what is expected. Nevertheless, please note that the partial transparency is not perfectly handled.

Lastly, if user has to deactivate embedded thumbnail to get the right display, does that means that the thumbnail is wrong and that something has to be fixed inside Gimp ?

Thank you for listening
Post Reply