0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Reported bugs that have been closed and/or resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview, Dreamer

Post Reply
HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Post by HanVroon » Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:38 pm

Hi Pierre,

I have a custom toolbar button in Browser and View mode that doesn't work anymore in the 0.85 beta's, in 0.84 with same settings they work.
I start a cmd with them, in default.bar I have:
_cmd_=CanonEOS5DII;C:/Program Files/ExifTool/CanonEOS5DII.cmd;C:/Program Files/ExifTool/exiftool.exe

Best regards,
Han

Add:
I did some extra testing, removed the default.bar file and added the command again. Same result, nothing happens when pressing the button. Exact same entry in the default.bar file as before.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31938
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Post by xnview » Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:45 am

i've tried custom cmd, and it works. is it possible to have the .cmd file?
Pierre.

HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: 0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Post by HanVroon » Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:55 am

Hi Pierre

Here is the cmd, and also the txt used in the cmd (tags to use by exiftool).
Both files are in C:\Program Files\ExifTool, where also exiftool.exe resides.

It stopped working in 0.85 beta 1.
When I switch back by starting 0.84 with the same settings files, it works.
I have the same commands in the Open with section, launcing the cmd there still works as well.
I remember that somewhere between versions 0.79 and 0.80 there was a similar issue, the same button worked in Browser, not in View mode, now it is in both modes.
That's why I concidered it to be a bug and not an error at my end...

PS: I tried uploading the attachments, but I don't see them. I have no experience uploading... :(
So here is the contents of CanonEOS5DII.cmd:
@echo off
"C:\Program Files\ExifTool\exiftool" %1 -k -p "C:\Program Files\ExifTool\CanonEOS5DIItags.txt"
Here is the first part of CanonEOS5DIItags.txt (less relevant I think):
File Name : $FileName
Record Mode : $RecordMode
Model : $Model
Date/Time Original : $DateTimeOriginal

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31938
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Post by xnview » Mon Mar 27, 2017 12:49 pm

i've tried and it works.
Pierre.

HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: 0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Post by HanVroon » Mon Mar 27, 2017 2:01 pm

So, you get a command box after clicking on the toolbar button that you created?

I don't get that anymore in 0.85 beta.
Even in a clean environment with the 0.85 beta 2 unzipped.
No settings done.
Just copied C:\Program Files\ExifTool to it.
Then created the button again from scratch, which results in the exact same default.bar content.
Clicking on the button doesn't open a command box as expexted.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31938
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Post by xnview » Mon Mar 27, 2017 2:14 pm

sorry but i have tested in debug mode, so right the command is executed without command window, it seems that it's a change in Qt library
Pierre.

HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: 0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Post by HanVroon » Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:41 pm

Right...
I just noticed that on my test machite I have lots of cmd.exe, conhost.exe and exiftool.exe processes running.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31938
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Post by xnview » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:52 pm

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.85 beta 4. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.

HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: 0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Post by HanVroon » Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:37 pm

The Custom button works again, the cmd window opens.
Thanks, Pierre!

HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

0.85: Custom button in View mode

Post by HanVroon » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:44 am

Hi Pierre,

During the 0.85 beta's I reported a problem with the custom buttons (launcing a cmd) not working anymore in Browser and Viewer mode:
http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?f=104&t=35242

The problem was fixed in 0.85 beta 4 I reported.
I now discovered that only for Browser mode the custom button works again, not in Viewer mode.
I can't remember if I tested Viwere mode, apparently not...

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31938
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.85: Custom button in View mode

Post by xnview » Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:47 pm

HanVroon wrote:Hi Pierre,

During the 0.85 beta's I reported a problem with the custom buttons (launcing a cmd) not working anymore in Browser and Viewer mode:
http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?f=104&t=35242

The problem was fixed in 0.85 beta 4 I reported.
I now discovered that only for Browser mode the custom button works again, not in Viewer mode.
I can't remember if I tested Viwere mode, apparently not...
Right will be fixed in next version
Pierre.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31938
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.85: Custom button in View mode

Post by xnview » Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:59 am

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.86. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.

HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: 0.85b2: Custom button not working anymore

Post by HanVroon » Fri Apr 28, 2017 7:49 am

Tested in version 0.86, the custom button in View mode works again.
Thanks!

Post Reply