RC2: Embedded thumbnails not updated after lossless crop

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
OL

RC2: Embedded thumbnails not updated after lossless crop

Post by OL » Mon May 23, 2005 12:37 am

1. go to options>browser>thumbnails and check "use embedded thumbnail"
2. open a jpeg file in viewer
3. do a lossless crop
4. go back to browser

Result: Embedded thumbnail has not changed
Expected result: Embedded thumbnail has been updated

XnView 1.80 <x>

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32499
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: RC2: Embedded thumbnails not updated after lossless crop

Post by xnview » Mon May 23, 2005 7:11 pm

OL wrote:1. go to options>browser>thumbnails and check "use embedded thumbnail"
2. open a jpeg file in viewer
3. do a lossless crop
4. go back to browser

Result: Embedded thumbnail has not changed
Expected result: Embedded thumbnail has been updated
Yes, currently i have a problem to update thumbnail after a lossless crop.
Pierre.

ziomau10
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:49 am

Re: RC2: Embedded thumbnails not updated after lossless crop

Post by ziomau10 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:08 am

Much time has passed since this bug has been reported.
I don't know if it is the same issue, but I experience the very same behavior using latest version.
I tried:
- Rebuild thumbnails
- Metadata/Exif rebuild thumbnail
- Clear cache
. Disable/Enable cache
- Disable/Enable Use embedded thumbnails
- Restarting xnView
- Restarting the PC

Nothing works, in xnview i still see the old thumbnails, while in the explorer "show large icons" (which, i guess shows the thumblails, but may also open the image data) I see the correct picture.
Any idea?

Stef1786
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:20 am

Re: RC2: Embedded thumbnails not updated after lossless crop

Post by Stef1786 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:15 am

I also experience a bunch of Refresh issues on Win7 x64.
Tried the same variations of enabling/disabling Cache, Embedded thumbnails - but nothing helps.

Most confusing to me is the tree behavior. Dragging folders is not reflected in the tree, I always have to remind myself to click away into other folders or switch over to Windows to see what's going on in order to avoid damage when re-organizing.

ziomau10
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:49 am

Re: RC2: Embedded thumbnails not updated after lossless crop

Post by ziomau10 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:25 am

Hi all,
The only thing that works is clean "ALL" metadata and do Metadata/EXIF rebuild thumbnail.
Note that cleaning "ONLY" the EXIF thumbnail and recreating it, is not enough.
I did not do a Metadata Clean one element at a time to see if a specific category is the culprit.
Maybe I will try this, when I will have time ...

And BTW same configuration Win7 x64 ...

Stef1786
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:20 am

Re: RC2: Embedded thumbnails not updated after lossless crop

Post by Stef1786 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:04 am

Hmm, thanks but it's still not working for me.
All Metadata command are greyed out on the fly-out menu. None of the EXIF data are activated anyway in my casee, all disabled. And I am not using the cache either.

Browser is set to AutoRefresh
Folder Tree is set to "Update Treeview when Refresh

I also checked the ini-values for these, settings are correct as expected, but the folder tree will not update unless I click away from my folder, then click back into the correct location.

ziomau10
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:49 am

Re: RC2: Embedded thumbnails not updated after lossless crop

Post by ziomau10 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:24 am

Not being a developer, I may only guess ...

First, I don't believe that the missing thumbnail refresh, and the tree refresh are coming from the same bug.
Probably it is better if you open a new thread specific to the tree refresh problem giving detailed information there,
and how to reproduce, in order to be helpful to the developers.

Second, the Metadata submenu is active only when the image(s) selected does have some metadata.
If you have no image selected, or the selected image does not support metadata (like Windows BMP), the submenu is grayed out

Just a guess.

Stef1786
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 7:20 am

Re: RC2: Embedded thumbnails not updated after lossless crop

Post by Stef1786 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:48 am

ziomau10 wrote: .. the Metadata submenu is active only when the image(s) selected does have some metadata.
Makes sense. Guess I am too preoccupied with my tree problem and with organizing my pics to think straight.
Will take your advice and open a new thread for this.
Thanks anyway.

ziomau10
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:49 am

Re: RC2: Embedded thumbnails not updated after lossless crop

Post by ziomau10 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:52 am

You're Welcome ...

Post Reply