0.84: UI: Slash in path

Reported bugs that have been closed and/or resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview, Dreamer

Post Reply
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by helmut »

XnView MP 0.84 b3 on Windows 7

In search dialog (Tools > Search), the path name is displayed with slash (e.g. C:/Windows/). On Windows systems, paths should always be displayed using backslash (e.g. C:\Windows\).
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33852
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.84b3: UI: Search dialog: Slash in path

Post by xnview »

right i'll fix it
Pierre.
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by helmut »

Thank you for fixing this in v0.84.

There are three more instances:
- In Batch rename dialog, output path is displayed with slashes. (Should be backslashes on Windows).
- In Info dialog, path of .ini file is displayed with slashes (Should be backslashes on Windows)
- Create>>File list: Default is "{Directory}/{Filename With Ext}". Intead, this should be "\" on Windows. Same applies for the created File list.

XnView MP 0.84
Windows 10
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33852
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by xnview »

helmut wrote:Thank you for fixing this in v0.84.

There are three more instances:
- In Batch rename dialog, output path is displayed with slashes. (Should be backslashes on Windows).
- In Info dialog, path of .ini file is displayed with slashes (Should be backslashes on Windows)
- Create>>File list: Default is "{Directory}/{Filename With Ext}". Intead, this should be "\" on Windows. Same applies for the created File list.
right, will be fixed
Pierre.
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by helmut »

One more instance:
Settings | Browser » Catalog: In the list "Cache maintenance", cached directories listed have slashes.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33852
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by xnview »

O.k., thank you, I can also reproduce the problem. Issue 1244 is fixed in next version.
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33852
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by xnview »

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.87. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.
HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by HanVroon »

Tested with 0.87 beta 2, partly fixed.

- Settings | Browser » Catalog: In the list "Cache maintenance", cached directories listed have backslashes now.
- Backslashes in Batch rename was previously fixed.
- Info dialog (I guessed Helmut ment Help, About), was previously fixed.

But:
Not to be annoying, but in the original bug report from Helmut, in the output of the search, pathnames are shown with backslash, but in the header of the result window of the search, behind "Current pathname:", the path is still shown with forward slashes. :?

Also:
In Create, File listing, the default dialog still shows: {Directory}/{Filename With Ext} (forward slash)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33852
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by xnview »

HanVroon wrote: Not to be annoying, but in the original bug report from Helmut, in the output of the search, pathnames are shown with backslash, but in the header of the result window of the search, behind "Current pathname:", the path is still shown with forward slashes. :?
ok, will be fixed in beta 3
Pierre.
HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by HanVroon »

Excellent.

because you didn't quote the following;
"Also:
In Create, File listing, the default dialog still shows: {Directory}/{Filename With Ext} (forward slash)
"

Did you also had a look at that?
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by XnTriq »

HanVroon wrote:[…] in the output of the search, pathnames are shown with backslash, but in the header of the result window of the search, behind "Current pathname:", the path is still shown with forward slashes.
HanVroon wrote:In Create, File listing, the default dialog still shows: {Directory}/{Filename With Ext} (forward slash)
Both remaining issues seem to be fixed in beta 3. Could you please confirm, HanVroon ?
HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by HanVroon »

Tested with 0.87 beta 3

Fixed:
In the output of Tools, Search, pressing Search after entering someting, in the header of the result window of the search, behind "Current pathname:", the path is now shown with backslashes

Not fixed:
In Create, File listing, the default dialog still shows: {Directory}/{Filename With Ext} (forward slash)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33852
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by xnview »

HanVroon wrote: In Create, File listing, the default dialog still shows: {Directory}/{Filename With Ext} (forward slash)
you need to clean the default from your .ini
Pierre.
HanVroon
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:30 am

Re: 0.84: UI: Slash in path

Post by HanVroon »

OK, retested after deleting the line list=... in the section [Listing] in the ini, after that the forward slash was gone, Fixed.
Post Reply