Using Environment Variables for output folder?

Older bugs which are supposed to be fixed in 0.84. *** Please try to reproduce your bug and confirm the bug fix. ***

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview, Dreamer

Kacey
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 12:49 am

Using Environment Variables for output folder?

Post by Kacey »

I want to make use of Windows' Environment Variables to help with portability.

Example:

Under the Output tab, I select "Folder", and in the textbox use: %USERPROFILE%\Desktop\Converted

I want it to replace %USERPROFILE% with whatever path is in that environment variable,
which for the above example may look like:

C:\Users\Kacey\Desktop\Converted

Right now it outputs folders exactly as the string put in the path. It literally creates a "%USERPROFILE%" folder. :?

using Version 1.92 - windows x64 (Jul 1 2021) - Libformat version 7.91
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38830
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: How to use Environment Variables?

Post by xnview »

currently you can't use env vars
Pierre.
Kacey
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 12:49 am

Re: How to use Environment Variables?

Post by Kacey »

Can you pls add it soon? It's super important for my usage.

https://stackoverflow.com/q/1902681/553663
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38830
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: How to use Environment Variables?

Post by xnview »

See issue for current status and some details.
Pierre.
Kacey
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 12:49 am

Re: How to use Environment Variables?

Post by Kacey »

Thank you SO much! :D
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38830
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: How to use Environment Variables?

Post by xnview »

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.99.0. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.
Tolken
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:54 am

Re: How to use Environment Variables?

Post by Tolken »

Hi there!

I'm using XnViewMP 0.99.1
but this line that in xnview.ini doesn't work

OpenWith=%PortableDir%/GIMP/GIMPPortable.exe

Are there any tricks or did i do something wrong?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38830
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: How to use Environment Variables?

Post by xnview »

Tolken wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 3:32 pm Hi there!

I'm using XnViewMP 0.99.1
but this line that in xnview.ini doesn't work

OpenWith=%PortableDir%/GIMP/GIMPPortable.exe

Are there any tricks or did i do something wrong?
it's not the same issue, please create a new post
Pierre.
HEJUBA
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 2:26 pm

Re: How to use Environment Variables?

Post by HEJUBA »

xnview wrote: Thu Sep 16, 2021 12:19 pm This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.99.0. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
I installed XnViewMP 1.01 (Windows, Terminal Server) and we are using the ini file in the program files folder.
I've set the option to open XnViewMP to %USERPROFILE%\Pictures, but this doesn't work. It loads c:\program files\xnveiwmp instead.
I see that if I edit the path over the GUI, it is written into the ini file to the customPath entry. It isn't loaded within the program.

Is there any other syntax, I could set the path to each userprofile (or its pictures folder)?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38830
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: How to use Environment Variables?

Post by xnview »

HEJUBA wrote: Wed Aug 17, 2022 2:39 pm I've set the option to open XnViewMP to %USERPROFILE%\Pictures, but this doesn't work. It loads c:\program files\xnveiwmp instead.
which option?
Pierre.
HEJUBA
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 2:26 pm

Re: Using Environment Variables for output folder?

Post by HEJUBA »

The default pane at startup from the general options.
Image
Sorry, the screenshot is in German.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38830
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Using Environment Variables for output folder?

Post by xnview »

it's not the subject of topic, please create a new suggestion
Pierre.
HEJUBA
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 2:26 pm

Re: Using Environment Variables for output folder?

Post by HEJUBA »

xnview wrote: Fri Aug 19, 2022 1:55 pm it's not the subject of topic, please create a new suggestion
I do appologize, as initially I understood it may be the same.
Here is the new entry viewtopic.php?f=60&t=43728