Grid features missing still…

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Grid features missing still…

Post by Clo » Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:19 am

:) Hello !

• The Grid improvements have been discussed largely in THAT THREAD a long while ago, and partially added.
- There are also some recent proposals about a GUI configuration…

• However, for a more general purpose, I checked the same function in the Uniview.
- Here, there is simply a 2-entry sub-menu to show the grid and to configure it; hence, no need to modify the Options anyway… One can change the grid “on the spot” directly.
- This is only a tiny dialogue (I completed it with the blue-circled section, the rest is original) :

————— Image

:?: What do you think ?

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo

XnView 1.90 <x>
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32052
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Grid features missing still…

Post by xnview » Thu Aug 24, 2006 10:06 am

Clo wrote: ————— Image

:?: What do you think ?
Yes, but perhaps better in option dialog, but where??? Olivier a suggestion :-) ?
Pierre.

User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by JohnFredC » Thu Aug 24, 2006 4:43 pm

The grid is something I use "on the fly"... that means I turn it on and off frequently.

So:

For me the best interface is all of the following:

1. A "default grid" setup in options. A tab in the "View" category would be great.

2. A toolbar combo-button with a drop down that displays saved named grids (or no grid). Something like the toolbar interface to the jpg lossless dialog would be perfect! Grids should be saved in a "grid.ini" file for easy sharing, of course. :)

3. A way to resize and move the grid dynamically with the mouse in order to precisely align it with features in the displayed image.

4. A "snap to grid feature" in Edit>Selection size would be great, too.

5. Likewise, a "snap SCROLL to grid" option somewhere would be useful for scientific/geographic imagery.

2Clo:

I like your dialog, but it doesn't go far enough. Grid config needs:

1. Name+Save grid
2. Delete named grid
3. Set named grid to default
4. Units for grid X & Y: Pixels, cm, in, % of image, etc. Also, simple X by Y values
5. Toggle to scale grid with zoom (disables some of the units choices, obviously)
6. Persistence (your "Keep for")
8. Color
9. Transparency setting
10. Some sort of auto color mode that is "always visible"
11. Reset grid

Yeh, that's a lot of stuff to program. Maybe it could be implemented a little at a time?

Thanks for listening!
John

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Nice, but…

Post by Clo » Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:53 pm

—> JohnFredC

:) Hello John !

• OMG ! This is nice, but are you not too demanding ? :D

- Currently, I wish to get only the most useful missing features… But indeed, I'm not a pro user like you ;)
- Anyway, these features need to be set "on the fly" like you point out, and I don't wish to go in the Options at each time…

- The very simple Uniview approach is a good basis, the main principle being to have a (sub-)menu -or a list from a subsidiary button like you say, it's the same-.
• Thank you for your interest !

:mrgreen: FR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

No, no, no !

Post by Clo » Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:59 pm

—> Pierre

:) Good evening,
Yes, but perhaps better in option dialog…
• Sorry, no. The main benefit of such a dialogue is to be available while you are working, and it does not need to open the Option, that should break the workflow…

• Please, consider too the JohnFredC's point of view, it's more perfected,
but contains very good ideas in the same painting, I guess…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
ouistiti
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:28 pm
Location: Belgique
Contact:

Post by ouistiti » Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:23 pm

:arrow: Pierre

I agree with Clo and JohnFredC !

These changes must be reachable direcly «on the fly».

Please, avoid the Options, it's not handy and hard to find out, moreover I guess that the Options are full enough already.

Friendly

Paul
L'important n'est pas de convaincre, mais de donner à réfléchir.
The important thing is not to convince, but to incite to think.

1,77245385090552...

User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: No, no, no !

Post by Olivier_G » Fri Aug 25, 2006 2:58 am

Clo wrote:
Yes, but perhaps better in option dialog
Sorry, no. The main benefit of such a dialogue is to be available while you are working, and it does not need to open the Option, that should break the workflow…
I agree as well: the dialog showed by Clo is MUCH better than using the Options panel.
Olivier

User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by JohnFredC » Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:37 pm

The options panel should be used to set the default grid and to offer an alternative interface to manage named grids.

But a floating non-modal grid-configurer dialog would be best for "real-time" use.
John

User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Olivier_G » Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:32 pm

Implemented in Beta 1.
More opinions before moving to Closed?
Olivier

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Not enough and further

Post by Clo » Sat Nov 18, 2006 11:32 pm

:) Hello !

• As far as I see, only the Apply button has been added, and the Close button
which work fine instead of the former buggy OK one.

• The caption for the "Colour" button is still missing.

• I guess it's not too demanding to hope for 3 missing “Persistence¦Keep for” options in addition on that dialogue,
there is room enough :

———————Image

• To go further (and later) according to the other JohnFredC's proposals, I would propose an “Advanced” button to open another larger future dialogue, already set but greyed indeed currently.

• It's possible to fire the "Grid" command from the menu, simply keep the "Grid settings" one and enable ¦disable the grid by a tick-box, like shown above…

• Also, the marking-off could be disabled when useless…

- Hence, IMHO, that thread is not to close yet… Image

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

FlorianH
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 8:28 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Post by FlorianH » Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:31 pm

I like the 'pro' grid features collection from JFC very much:
JohnFredC wrote: 1. Name+Save grid
2. Delete named grid
3. Set named grid to default
4. Units for grid X & Y: Pixels, cm, in, % of image, etc. Also, simple X by Y values
5. Toggle to scale grid with zoom (disables some of the units choices, obviously)
6. Persistence (your "Keep for")
8. Color
9. Transparency setting
10. Some sort of auto color mode that is "always visible"
11. Reset grid
From my point of view, especially 4-6 are realy important. Some more persistence options should be added as proposed by Clo (none, within current view, whole session, permanent). Grid color is already implemented, transparency would be very nice, but i think it's not a must-have feature.

Is there any chance to add units, scaling and persistence options to 1.90?

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32052
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:35 pm

FlorianH wrote:Is there any chance to add units, scaling and persistence options to 1.90?
No sorry, it's too late now...
Pierre.

Post Reply