upgrade installation fails on Qtek 9000

Discussions on XnView for PocketPC

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
ottmar
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: MUNICH

upgrade installation fails on Qtek 9000

Post by ottmar » Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:07 pm

... never change a running system :-(
I had xnview pocket version 1.35 working on my Vodafone VPA IV (same as Qtek9000)
and just wanted to go with the 1.40 as I always try the newest version on various platforms.

But now the CAB installation stops at about 60% of the progress bar
and it says: cannot be installed, try other path (on device or SD card)
but neither works. Even the 1.35, I cannot install anymore now :-(
It is the xscale version that I have to use.

Any clue? Is there something in the "registry" left?

I'd be very happy having it working again before my vacation next week ;-)

TIA
Ottmar

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32251
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: upgrade installation fails on Qtek 9000

Post by xnview » Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:29 am

ottmar wrote:... never change a running system :-(
I had xnview pocket version 1.35 working on my Vodafone VPA IV (same as Qtek9000)
and just wanted to go with the 1.40 as I always try the newest version on various platforms.

But now the CAB installation stops at about 60% of the progress bar
and it says: cannot be installed, try other path (on device or SD card)
but neither works. Even the 1.35, I cannot install anymore now :-(
It is the xscale version that I have to use.

Any clue? Is there something in the "registry" left?

I'd be very happy having it working again before my vacation next week ;-)

TIA
Ottmar
Are you sure that you have enough free space?
Perhaps you can extract the CAB on PC, and replace the files on the PocketPC?
Pierre.

ottmar
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: MUNICH

Post by ottmar » Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:06 am

Hello Pierre,

thanks for answering. I do have enough space, 9MB on the device and
about 1.3 GB of the 2GB SD card are free. I was/am able to install other
programs but not xnview again :-(

What do you mean with extracting the CAB on PC and replacing on the PDA?
When I open the xnpocket_xscale.cab with WinZip, I then see files with
unusual names and extensions like xnpocket.001, 000000de.05 and so on
but none that I would know of how to replace on the PDA?

Still desperate :-(

rgds
Ottmar

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32251
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:52 am

ottmar wrote:Hello Pierre,

thanks for answering. I do have enough space, 9MB on the device and
about 1.3 GB of the 2GB SD card are free. I was/am able to install other
programs but not xnview again :-(

What do you mean with extracting the CAB on PC and replacing on the PDA?
When I open the xnpocket_xscale.cab with WinZip, I then see files with
unusual names and extensions like xnpocket.001, 000000de.05 and so on
but none that I would know of how to replace on the PDA?

Still desperate :-(
And why you don't use the exe package?
Else send me an email, i'll send you a zip package...
Pierre.

ottmar
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: MUNICH

Post by ottmar » Fri Jun 08, 2007 9:15 am

Hi Pierre,

of course I tried the exe version as well, means I have executed
xnpocket_xscale.exe on the PC while the PDA was connected
via ActiveSync and USB.
But to my understanding and what I see is that the .exe just
transfers the CAB to the PDA and then one is asked to confirm
the installation of the CAB on the PDA itself.
Result is the same, the progressbar stops at about 60% and says
Gougelet PE XnView Pocket" cannot be installed. To try again choose
a different path.
e.g. Device: Memory necessary 1667 KB
Memory available 9535 KB
e.g. Storage: Memory necessary 1667 KB
Memory available 1419040 KB

Then this loop begins again :-(

I'll send you my email as you suggested.
TIA
Ottmar

ottmar
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: MUNICH

Post by ottmar » Fri Jun 08, 2007 3:22 pm

Many thanks Pierre,

it works!!! -)))

Strange thing is the following

When I tried installing either with the .CAB on the PDA or the .exe via my PC
it seemed to unpack everything except the xnpocket.exe and just stopped with
the error message.

When I took the xnpocket.exe from your zip file and copied it into the directory,
then I could launch it.

I then removed the whole directory again and re-tried the CAB file installation
and now it works also ?!?!?

So I again thank you very much, but still don't know what the explanation is.

best regards
Ottmar
:-) :-) :-)

Post Reply