Position paste

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
chameleon
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 6:28 pm

Position paste

Post by chameleon »

When you paste something, you must put it in correct position. Not just in position (0, 0).
If I choose a rectangle to paste inside, a resize operation takes place in pasted image. This is not always desirable.
To make a rectangle of the same size of pasted image, is almost impossible.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34096
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Position paste

Post by xnview »

So a way to put&move the clipboard content?
Pierre.
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: Position paste

Post by JohnFredC »

Oh my yes!!!!

That would be a significant improvement.

Perhaps an "Apply" button somewhere in the interface would finalize the paste.

It would be awesome to be able to resize and rotate, too!!!
John
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Position paste

Post by helmut »

Yes, handling of paste operation should be really improved. Pasting an image and then support for repositioning the pasted area would be really cool.

MS Paint works really well in that respect:
- Dragging the mouse moves the pasted area.
- Ctrl key + dragging the mouse you move the pasted area leaving a copy at the last position.
- Using the handles of the selection you can resize the pasted area
- Any click outside the pasted area will end pasting "mode".
n8blume
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:42 pm
Location: Rheurdt, Germany

Re: Position paste

Post by n8blume »

Copy & Paste is really important using XnView.
To put the pasted picture at any position I want would be a important inprovement.
The possibility to change the size after pasting would be much better.
fecund
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 7:58 am

Re: Position paste

Post by fecund »

I also would like this, and it doesn't have to be tied to pasting, could be added to the selection. Perhaps a menu option or keypress that changes what happens when you drag in an active region- currently that moves the region- it could move the region and the pixels it encloses. Similarly while in that mode resizing the region would scale the image inside it as well.
User avatar
foxyshadis
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:57 am

Re: Position paste

Post by foxyshadis »

Is this just completely forgotten, or is it tracked anywhere (classic and/or MP)? Having to drop into Photoshop just to copy or move a selection something anywhere but the top right corner is a little much...
Post Reply