Crop tool?

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

nightflyer
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 7:41 am

Post by nightflyer »

Drahken wrote: I think xnview's greatest weakness is it's self-inconsistancy. Xnview is a great program overall, but it's desperately needs to improve it's consistancy.
Yes, I agree, many modes are confusing. There are also different things that seem to be completely off-place and not completed.
I would like to see one or even two full versions completely dedicated to improving existing functions and solving current problems, 2 fullscreens being one of them, without adding anything new. It is like creating a solid base for a building.
-=nightflyer=-
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by JohnFredC »

Referring to the original post, another interpretation of the "problem" here could be the difference between what I call "prefix" cropping and "postfix" cropping.

In prefix cropping, one selects the crop tool first, then the area, then the confirmation. Examples of this approach are in Lightroom, Paintshop Pro, and Picasa.

In postfix cropping, one selects the area first, then the crop confirmation. This is how XnView does it.

See the difference? If one is used to the former method, the latter method might be initially confusing, and vice versa.
John
MAG
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:15 am

Post by MAG »

I think need add some features to this tool like:
pre setup width, height and resolution
Irving
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 5:44 am

Post by Irving »

nightflyer wrote:
Drahken wrote: I think xnview's greatest weakness is it's self-inconsistancy. Xnview is a great program overall, but it's desperately needs to improve it's consistancy.
Yes, I agree, many modes are confusing. There are also different things that seem to be completely off-place and not completed.
I would like to see one or even two full versions completely dedicated to improving existing functions and solving current problems, 2 fullscreens being one of them, without adding anything new. It is like creating a solid base for a building.
I also found that XnView has in the last couple of years become too many things for too many people, (so even though it has bugs I'm sticking with 1.74).
vedavrata
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:44 am
Location: Odesa, Ukraine
Contact:

Crop predefined ratio / predefine size

Post by vedavrata »

Yes, a selected part of image can be CROPed...
But how to set a predefined image ratio (width:height) or to set a predefined image size?
Attachments
A sample of crop ratio in other software
A sample of crop ratio in other software
Crop-Board.jpg (125.43 KiB) Viewed 1662 times
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: Crop tool?

Post by JohnFredC »

The predefined selection ratios are in the Edit menu.
John
vedavrata
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:44 am
Location: Odesa, Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Crop tool?

Post by vedavrata »

JohnFredC wrote:The predefined selection ratios are in the Edit menu.
Are you talkong about Linux (X11) version 1.70 ?..
(i use Ubuntu.)
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: Crop tool?

Post by JohnFredC »

vedavrata wrote:Are you talkong about Linux (X11) version 1.70 ?..
(i use Ubuntu.)
No, sorry. XP + SP3 + XnView 1.97.2
John
vedavrata
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:44 am
Location: Odesa, Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Crop predefined ratio / predefine size

Post by vedavrata »

vedavrata wrote:Yes, a selected part of image can be CROPed...
But how to set a predefined image ratio (width:height) or to set a predefined image size?
So, in Linux version of xnview i can not preset crop ratios?..
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: Crop tool?

Post by JohnFredC »

Hi vedavrata

Are you using the XnView MP beta? That function has not been implemented in that version yet, though apparently it is probable for the next beta.

The current MP version is 0.26.1 ...
John
thilke
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 2:43 pm

Re: Crop tool?

Post by thilke »

Hi

I asked just a little thing. I would like to see only the selected part of the pic, and not all this with the selected line... as seen in the Vedavrata post... what this soft is ?
Post Reply