Screen Capture with a "global" HotKey

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
SteveG
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:50 pm

Screen Capture with a "global" HotKey

Post by SteveG » Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:03 pm

Hello,

the capture function is very good. But additional it would be good
if there is a possibility to assign in Windows a "global" Hotkey to XnViews
ScreenCaputre function.
Perhpas it is already implemented. But I didn't find somthing like that.
Probably anyone has a solution. Pleas tell me. Thank you.

Steve

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33488
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Screen Capture with a "global" HotKey

Post by xnview » Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:53 am

You means a hotkey even if xnview is not started?
Pierre.

SteveG
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:50 pm

Re: Screen Capture with a "global" HotKey

Post by SteveG » Mon Apr 20, 2009 4:32 pm

xnview wrote:You means a hotkey even if xnview is not started?
Hello xnview,

exact. The possibility to have a screen caputre hotkey, even if xnview is not started.
Especially with the "show mouse" and active window option.
Additional it would be good to have a small interface/app (not the full big program)
with an icon in the tray and to sel the screen capture options and actions from/within
this icon by a popupp menu.

And it would be good to have an option to start xnview after a screen capture
in the capture directory even if a standard dir like D:\ is set.
Also it would be good to disable this behavior (upcoming xnview after a capture) for
continous captureing by a hotkey.

Steve

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33488
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Screen Capture with a "global" HotKey

Post by xnview » Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:12 am

SteveG wrote:
xnview wrote:You means a hotkey even if xnview is not started?
exact. The possibility to have a screen caputre hotkey, even if xnview is not started.
To be able to do that, i must add a little application in the system tray. Or you can use a hotkey program
Pierre.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Screen Capture with a "global" HotKey

Post by Dreamer » Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:39 pm

xnview wrote:To be able to do that, i must add a little application in the system tray.
Why you want to make something what already exist? :wink:
xnview wrote:Or you can use a hotkey program
You can use the HotkeyP, but it's possible even without it. More here.
Dreamer

SteveG
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:50 pm

Re: Screen Capture with a "global" HotKey

Post by SteveG » Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:38 pm

Hello Dreamer,

looks interesting.
But the coder should add something like _active_window_ and a param for the f10 key
for example a clicked command line like:

C:\progs\xnview.exe -capture=active,d:\screenshot$.ext,f10,mouse,exit

would load xnview as a minimized window and wait for the pressed f10 button
include the mouse in the capture and afterwards exit...

or a commandline like (without the f):

C:\progs\xnview.exe -capture=active,d:\screenshot$.ext,10,exit

would load xnview as a minimized window and wait the given time (10 seconds)
not including the mouse in the capture and afterwards exit...

Just some ideas :-)

Steve

Alahad_Group
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:28 am

Re: Screen Capture with a "global" HotKey

Post by Alahad_Group » Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:35 am

try Latest version of "Snagit" software (search download link on Google) ... it will help u every kind of screen capturing. even ... You can capture a scrolling window too...
and i hope ... you get Your Actual answer in this software.
_________________
Alahad Recruitment Group
A+ Esolutions

Post Reply