1.81? REQ: Autosize columns in Details view

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Hacker
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 9:24 pm
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Contact:

1.81? REQ: Autosize columns in Details view

Post by Hacker » Fri May 27, 2005 2:05 pm

Would it be possible to add an option to autosize columns in Details mode, please? Now I have to press Ctrl-Num+ in every dir I go to.

Roman

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: RC3: [REQ] Autosize columns

Post by xnview » Mon May 30, 2005 7:35 am

Hacker wrote:Would it be possible to add an option to autosize columns in Details mode, please? Now I have to press Ctrl-Num+ in every dir I go to.
You view files in which mode? Columns keeps size when you change current folder?
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8172
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: RC3: [REQ] Autosize columns

Post by helmut » Sat Jun 04, 2005 10:54 am

Hacker wrote:Would it be possible to add an option to autosize columns in Details mode, please? Now I have to press Ctrl-Num+ in every dir I go to.
Until now I didn't know that there is such a thing as auto-sizing columns in Detail view. I guess that's a behaviour of the control which Pierre and many other people didn't know about.

Something worth while discussing, but not in 1.80, please (Postponed).

Hacker
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 9:24 pm
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Contact:

Post by Hacker » Sat Jun 04, 2005 11:52 pm

xnview,
You view files in which mode?
Details.
Columns keeps size when you change current folder?
Yes.

TIA
Roman

User avatar
Icfu
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:15 am

Post by Icfu » Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:01 am

Until now I didn't know that there is such a thing as auto-sizing columns in Detail view.
This is standard Explorer column behaviour and as such available in all programs that use Explorer controls.

The feature Hacker has requested is available in file manager Directory Opus for example. Column sizing is done automatically there optionally and it's very great for keeping columns in good shape and keeping the needs for horizontal scrolling or adjusting column headers low.

Icfu

User avatar
Lesmo16
Posts: 419
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 8:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Lesmo16 » Thu Jun 09, 2005 3:18 pm

Support!
Everyone who believes in telekinesis, raise my hand!

Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Danny » Thu Jun 09, 2005 7:00 pm

Yes it would be nice if there was an option to make the coloumns in the detail view automatically adjust their width.

Hacker
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 9:24 pm
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: RC3: [REQ] Autosize columns

Post by Hacker » Fri Jun 10, 2005 11:27 am

helmut wrote:
Hacker wrote:Would it be possible to add an option to autosize columns in Details mode, please? Now I have to press Ctrl-Num+ in every dir I go to.
Until now I didn't know that there is such a thing as auto-sizing columns in Detail view. I guess that's a behaviour of the control which Pierre and many other people didn't know about.
Everybody knows about it from ACDSee. :D ;)

Roman

Post Reply