SHARPEN "built in" in resize image panel

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

jepe
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 10:27 am

SHARPEN "built in" in resize image panel

Postby jepe » Sun Aug 16, 2015 10:39 am

when resizing images, it is almost always necessary to do a little sharpen

It'd be great if one didn't have to do the sharpen separately ...
but to have a checkable option "and do some sharpening afterwards" -- as IrfanView offer it too ... :)

#2
PLUS, it'd be great if sharpen would be easier available anyway, on top of a main menu list, for example ...

great software, great work!! thank you!!

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5088
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: SHARPEN "built in" in resize image panel

Postby XnTriq » Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:30 pm

I support this request.

BTW: Enhance Focus and Focus Restoration (Filter » Effects… » Enhance) are also worth considering.


User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5088
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: SHARPEN "built in" in resize image panel

Postby XnTriq » Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:30 pm

As of version 2.34, sharpening is available in…

    Image » Resize...
… but not yet in…

    Tools » Batch Processing... » Transformations » Image » Resize

Results for resampling of Rings1.gif to 20% with XnView:

p127545_1.png
Lanczos without “Apply sharpen”
p127545_1.png (12.88 KiB) Viewed 2435 times

p127545_2.png
Lanczos with “Apply sharpen”
p127545_2.png (12.66 KiB) Viewed 2435 times

p127545_3.png
Bilinear without “Apply sharpen”
p127545_3.png (28.02 KiB) Viewed 2432 times

p127545_4.png
Bilinear with “Apply sharpen”
p127545_4.png (31.12 KiB) Viewed 2432 times

BTW: Activating the Apply sharpen option in the Resize dialog seems to be the equivalent of applying Sharpen (Filter » Effects... » Misc.) with a intensity parameter of 50.

Photoshop's “Bicubic Sharper” in comparison:


User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 28065
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SHARPEN "built in" in resize image panel

Postby xnview » Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:36 am

XnTriq wrote:BTW: Activating the Apply sharpen option in the Resize dialog seems to be the equivalent of applying Sharpen (Filter » Effects... » Misc.) with a intensity parameter of 50.

you can change it in

Code: Select all

[Resize] Sharpen=??
Pierre.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5088
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: SHARPEN "built in" in resize image panel

Postby XnTriq » Mon Sep 14, 2015 4:45 pm

xnview wrote:you can change it in

Code: Select all

[Resize] Sharpen=??

Is the following info correct, Pierre?

XnView Wiki (UI-less Settings » Resize) wrote:
Sharpen
    Changes the sharpening level of the resize tool.
    Value: Integer (percent), default value is 50
    Note: This setting only takes effect if “Apply Sharpen” is enabled.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 28065
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SHARPEN "built in" in resize image panel

Postby xnview » Tue Sep 15, 2015 7:01 am

XnTriq wrote:Is the following info correct, Pierre?

yes
Pierre.

goldenyears
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:36 pm

Re: SHARPEN "built in" in resize image panel

Postby goldenyears » Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:17 pm

I am a new user of XnView MP, and trying to find how to sharpen an image. From these posts I expected to see an "apply sharpen" dialog in the Resize function but it isn't there. The "About" page shows the following: "XnView MP Version 0.75 x32 (Sep 21 2015) Libformat version 6.80".

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5088
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: SHARPEN "built in" in resize image panel

Postby XnTriq » Tue Oct 13, 2015 12:00 am

goldenyears wrote:I am a new user of XNViewMP, and trying to find how to sharpen an image. From these posts I expected to see an "apply sharpen" dialog in the Resize function but it isn't there. The "About" page shows the following: "XnViewMP Version 0.75 x32 (Sep 21 2015) Libformat version 6.80".

This topic is about XnView “Classic” (Windows only). You're using XnView MP (Multi Platform = Linux + Mac + Windows). As of now, automatic sharpening hasn't been implemented in MP's resize function yet, but it's available through Image » Filter... » Effect list » Sharpen.


Return to “Classic - Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest