Screenshot import

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

thire
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:26 am
Contact:

Screenshot import

Post by thire » Fri Sep 16, 2005 9:32 am

It would be wonderful to have an option in say "File" to "create file from clipboard". When I create a screenshot (print button) I could add and save it this way easily.
Not really a "view" issue, but handy anyway! :)
thomas

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: screenshot import

Post by xnview » Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:29 am

thire wrote:It would be wonderful to have an option in say "File" to "create file from clipboard". When I create a screenshot (print button) I could add and save it this way easily.
Not really a "view" issue, but handy anyway! :)
Yes, but is it really difficult to make Ctrl+Shift+V, Ctrl+S :-)
Pierre.

thire
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:26 am
Contact:

Post by thire » Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:34 am

I did not know this shortcut. Wonderful, thanks!

thire
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:26 am
Contact:

Post by thire » Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:27 pm

Anyway, will there be any other way then knowing this shortcut and pressing it? :)

User avatar
Drahken
Posts: 884
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by Drahken » Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:20 pm

You can click tools->capture screen and have xnview either open the screen (so you can edit it and/or save it manually) or automatically save it. Of course, this only works if you're anticcipating taking a screenshot. If it's a spur of the moment screen, you still have to rely on shift+ctrl+v.

thire
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:26 am
Contact:

Post by thire » Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:31 pm

I was looking just for an option diretly in the menu system. Anyway, I three month, when I forgot the shortcut, I could search this thread again or look in the menu of 1.90 ;) for this... Got it?
This was more ment as an encouragement. :)

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8171
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:11 pm

thire wrote:I was looking just for an option diretly in the menu system. Anyway, I three month, when I forgot the shortcut, I could search this thread again or look in the menu of 1.90 ;) for this... Got it?
This was more ment as an encouragement. :)
Don't quite understand: There is "Edit > Import Clipboard", already?

User avatar
Drahken
Posts: 884
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by Drahken » Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:22 pm

There's a major flaw in xnview's design, "edit" doesn't show up unless you already have an image opened. This means that you would first have to paste the screenshot (or open a file), then use edit->import clipboard.


On further investigation however, the "file" menu is different when there is no image opened. Part of this difference is that the import clipboard option appears in the file menu.
File->import (with no opened images): http://allspark.net/cypherswipe/file-import.png
File menu with an opened image: http://allspark.net/cypherswipe/file-openedfile.png
Edit->import with opened image: http://allspark.net/cypherswipe/edit-import.png


So.. If you forget the shortcut, click file->import clipboard or edit->clipboard, depending on whether or not you have an image already open.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:28 pm

Drahken wrote:There's a major flaw in xnview's design, "edit" doesn't show up unless you already have an image opened. This means that you would first have to paste the screenshot (or open a file), then use edit->import clipboard.


On further investigation however, the "file" menu is different when there is no image opened. Part of this difference is that the import clipboard option appears in the file menu.
File->import (with no opened images): http://allspark.net/cypherswipe/file-import.png
File menu with an opened image: http://allspark.net/cypherswipe/file-openedfile.png
Edit->import with opened image: http://allspark.net/cypherswipe/edit-import.png


So.. If you forget the shortcut, click file->import clipboard or edit->clipboard, depending on whether or not you have an image already open.
Yes right, which menu is better?
Pierre.

User avatar
Drahken
Posts: 884
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by Drahken » Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:37 pm

As I said in the thread I just started, I think the menus and toolbars in xnview's initial state should be the same as in view mode, this would reduce a lot of confusion (like trying to find the import clipboard option).

Failing that (or even with that), I think the import clipboard option would be best left in the file menu, even in viewer mode. Since you're using that option to create a new file, it seems most logical to put it with file->open, file->import camera/scanner, etc.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8171
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:38 pm

xnview wrote:
Drahken wrote:There's a major flaw in xnview's design, "edit" doesn't show up unless you already have an image opened. This means that you would first have to paste the screenshot (or open a file), then use edit->import clipboard.


On further investigation however, the "file" menu is different when there is no image opened. Part of this difference is that the import clipboard option appears in the file menu.
File->import (with no opened images): http://allspark.net/cypherswipe/file-import.png
File menu with an opened image: http://allspark.net/cypherswipe/file-openedfile.png
Edit->import with opened image: http://allspark.net/cypherswipe/edit-import.png


So.. If you forget the shortcut, click file->import clipboard or edit->clipboard, depending on whether or not you have an image already open.
Yes right, which menu is better?
In basic mode (no window opened), there is no menu "Edit" (at the moment). So I think you're question which probably targets at unifying the menu for "Import Clipboard" has only one answer at the moment.

Personally I prefer the "Edit" menu. Users are used to have the Clipboard stuff in menu "Edit".

thire
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:26 am
Contact:

Post by thire » Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:17 pm

I'm happy! :) :D

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:41 am

helmut wrote:In basic mode (no window opened), there is no menu "Edit" (at the moment). So I think you're question which probably targets at unifying the menu for "Import Clipboard" has only one answer at the moment.

Personally I prefer the "Edit" menu. Users are used to have the Clipboard stuff in menu "Edit".
So i add a menu edit in basic mode? And show all button like view mode?
Pierre.

User avatar
Lesmo16
Posts: 419
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 8:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Lesmo16 » Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:38 pm

Drahken wrote:... "edit" doesn't show up unless you already have an image opened ...
Is that true?

IMHO, "Edit" is everytime accessable from main menu, but most entries are greyed.
BTW: "Properties" is not greyed - but without any recognizable action.

OK - so far ...

There's <F7> for "New Folder", which creates a new folder in the current folder.
So what about <Shift+F4> and a Edit-menu entry "New File", which creates a new file in the current folder.
Should be first a temp file, regardless the later file format.
The user can paste the screenshot from clipboard as assumed - with <Ctrl+V>.
Now the user can save the new file in the desired file format.

Is this OK, or did I get something wrong? :?
Everyone who believes in telekinesis, raise my hand!

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh » Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:24 pm

Lesmo16 wrote:
Drahken wrote:... "edit" doesn't show up unless you already have an image opened ...
Is that true?
Greetings Lesmo16,
True in basic mode. See it and basic buttons by closing browser, but not closing program. :)

Post Reply