Batch conversion with renaming

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8176
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Batch conversion with renaming

Post by helmut » Sun Nov 27, 2005 4:32 pm

In some other threads there have been various suggestions for improving Batch conversion. I think and hope the following has not been reported, yet:

When using Batch conversion, I often use it for resizing images to a smaller size for sending them to friends. To do so, I always have to create a subfolder "small" and specify this as output dir. Reason for this is that you cannot use the original folder as output folder, unless you want your original images to be renamed or overwritten.
I think there should be a way to rename the output files (and not the original files). E.g. the opportunity to add a user-defined suffix would help a lot.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32459
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Batch conversion with renaming

Post by xnview » Mon Nov 28, 2005 10:19 am

helmut wrote:In some other threads there have been various suggestions for improving Batch conversion. I think and hope the following has not been reported, yet:

When using Batch conversion, I often use it for resizing images to a smaller size for sending them to friends. To do so, I always have to create a subfolder "small" and specify this as output dir. Reason for this is that you cannot use the original folder as output folder, unless you want your original images to be renamed or overwritten.
I think there should be a way to rename the output files (and not the original files). E.g. the opportunity to add a user-defined suffix would help a lot.
You can by using %, for example %_small
Pierre.

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh » Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:30 pm

It works. Use proper path in directory box like "C:\temp\%_small" and "_small" is added to filename.
Do not simply put "%_small" in directory box (a forum user trick)- this sometimes creates filenames without extension.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8176
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Batch conversion with renaming

Post by helmut » Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:36 pm

xnview wrote:
helmut wrote:In some other threads there have been various suggestions for improving Batch conversion. I think and hope the following has not been reported, yet:

When using Batch conversion, I often use it for resizing images to a smaller size for sending them to friends. To do so, I always have to create a subfolder "small" and specify this as output dir. Reason for this is that you cannot use the original folder as output folder, unless you want your original images to be renamed or overwritten.
I think there should be a way to rename the output files (and not the original files). E.g. the opportunity to add a user-defined suffix would help a lot.
You can by using %, for example %_small
Good to know that '%' will do the job. :-) But: Entering a character which isn't listed anywhere in the field "Directory" is far away from being intuitive. At least we should add this as tip in the online help.

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: Batch conversion with renaming

Post by marsh » Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:18 am

helmut wrote: Good to know that '%' will do the job. :-) But: Entering a character which isn't listed anywhere in the field "Directory" is far away from being intuitive. At least we should add this as tip in the online help.
Be careful typing odd characters into directory box. As shown below:

"." puts everything into topmost directory.
"..." Foils my fat32 virtual disk by creating directory which I cannot get rid of. (I don't think the OS should allow that). I needed to reformat.
"" puts them all root directory.
The space character creates another weird directory which I cannot get rid of using ms explorer. It required formatting again.

So considering this, I don't recommend anyone use "empty the directory box" trick reported previously.

User avatar
Dreamer
XnThusiast
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Slovakia

Post by Dreamer » Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:16 am

marsh wrote:
helmut wrote: 1. Good to know that '%' will do the job. :-) But: Entering a character which isn't listed anywhere in the field "Directory" is far away from being intuitive. At least we should add this as tip in the online help.
2. Be careful typing odd characters into directory box. As shown below:

"." puts everything into topmost directory.
"..." Foils my fat32 virtual disk by creating directory which I cannot get rid of. (I don't think the OS should allow that). I needed to reformat.
"" puts them all root directory.
The space character creates another weird directory which I cannot get rid of using ms explorer. It required formatting again.

3. So considering this, I don't recommend anyone use "empty the directory box" trick reported previously.
1. There should be definitely an option (more below)...

2. I think "things" above are bugs and should be fixed.

3. I never had a problem with this, but I mean "empty the directory box = completely - no characters"

I think we could solve all this problems, also "Use org. path for images" option with checkbox with a single button with dropdown menu and these items (with explanation) - same as Insert button in Batch Rename:

- Use org. path for images (it would empty the dir. path)
- %
- .
- \
...

I think it would be very intuitive, useful and almost no additional space is requied.
Last edited by Dreamer on Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh » Wed Nov 30, 2005 7:12 am

Dreamer wrote: 3. I never had a problem with this, but I mean "empty the directory box = completely - no characters"
For now, using a single "%" in directory box is also an easy way of using original directories- it adds nothing to filename. It works well for me so far... I never had a mistake with the 'clear box' method either - I was hunting for possible problems.

Post Reply