Message box when removing non-empty folder

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8153
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Message box when removing non-empty folder

Post by helmut » Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:03 pm

When doing file management for image files (e.g., when moving files from memory card to hard disk), one is always a bit scared of accidently deleting files (at least I am a bit, even if there is the recycle bin).

A possible way to improve file handling and making it more secure: What about a message box "This folder or one of it's subfolders contains files. Do you really want to delete them?" ?

For power users there could be an option to disable this message box or a simple "Do not show this message again" could also do the job.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31261
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Message box when removing non-empty folder

Post by xnview » Thu Dec 15, 2005 1:17 pm

helmut wrote:When doing file management for image files (e.g., when moving files from memory card to hard disk), one is always a bit scared of accidently deleting files (at least I am a bit, even if there is the recycle bin).

A possible way to improve file handling and making it more secure: What about a message box "This folder or one of it's subfolders contains files. Do you really want to delete them?" ?

For power users there could be an option to disable this message box or a simple "Do not show this message again" could also do the job.
Ok, right
Pierre.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31261
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Message box when removing non-empty folder

Post by xnview » Sun Dec 18, 2005 3:17 pm

xnview wrote:
helmut wrote:For power users there could be an option to disable this message box or a simple "Do not show this message again" could also do the job.
Ok, right
But you have already a confirmation box when you delete files or folders.
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8153
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Message box when removing non-empty folder

Post by helmut » Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:03 pm

xnview wrote:
xnview wrote:
helmut wrote:For power users there could be an option to disable this message box or a simple "Do not show this message again" could also do the job.
Ok, right
But you have already a confirmation box when you delete files or folders.
That's right. When confirming I don't know whether the folder is really empty or not, so the user confirms something without having the information needed. But this is how Windows and MS Explorer works, so forget about this request.

Post Reply