Create Html changes file size when copying to output folder.

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
mkrabach
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 1:59 am
Location: Cumberland, RI
Contact:

Create Html changes file size when copying to output folder.

Post by mkrabach » Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:09 pm

I just noticed that the original image size of my photos are different that the ones in the output folder when I create a web page. The files copied to the output folder are about 20% smaller in byte count than the working files. The pixel size is the same. When looking at the meta info there is a different compression ratio appled to the copied file. In one case as an example the original image is compressed 8.4 but the copied file is now compressed at 10.6. This is strange because a "copied file" should not change in size. I am using XnView version 1.91.1

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32081
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Create Html changes file size when copying to output fol

Post by xnview » Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:53 pm

mkrabach wrote:I just noticed that the original image size of my photos are different that the ones in the output folder when I create a web page. The files copied to the output folder are about 20% smaller in byte count than the working files. The pixel size is the same. When looking at the meta info there is a different compression ratio appled to the copied file. In one case as an example the original image is compressed 8.4 but the copied file is now compressed at 10.6. This is strange because a "copied file" should not change in size. I am using XnView version 1.91.1
Do you have entered a maximun pixel size??
Pierre.

mkrabach
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 1:59 am
Location: Cumberland, RI
Contact:

Post by mkrabach » Tue Jul 24, 2007 2:11 pm

No I have not checked "Size Maximum". I have checked "Convert always in JPEG format". I have checked "Copy source images to output folder". I have not loaded older versions of Xnview to see if this is a new problem. I can not tell if this has happened in the past, because I have cleared the temporary photos that were used to create the output folders. I always reduce the size and set the jpeg compression for the final photos from the original scanned or digital camera photos. I then use those temporary photos to create the html pages.

Olive
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:18 pm
Location: Marseille
Contact:

Post by Olive » Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:31 pm

I can reproduce this with "Convert always in JPEG format" checked. Seems like it converts from jpg to jpg. The "always" in the checkbox labbel would suggest it anyway =)

mkrabach
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 1:59 am
Location: Cumberland, RI
Contact:

Post by mkrabach » Tue Jul 24, 2007 6:06 pm

Yes, thanks, that seems to be the answer. If "Convert always in JPEG format" is checked, it will do a reformat of any jpeg and override a clean "Copy source images to output folder". Subtle point that is not obvious unless carefully comparing the images from the source to the destination folder. Maybe some changing of words in the dialog box would help. Maybe a popup warning on "Convert always in JPEG format" when checked. Have the check box default unchecked. The popup would say [Warning: Copied files will always be reformated if "Convert always..." box checked]. Or maybe just mention this when you get around to upgrading the help file.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32081
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:06 am

mkrabach wrote:Yes, thanks, that seems to be the answer. If "Convert always in JPEG format" is checked, it will do a reformat of any jpeg and override a clean "Copy source images to output folder". Subtle point that is not obvious unless carefully comparing the images from the source to the destination folder. Maybe some changing of words in the dialog box would help. Maybe a popup warning on "Convert always in JPEG format" when checked. Have the check box default unchecked. The popup would say [Warning: Copied files will always be reformated if "Convert always..." box checked]. Or maybe just mention this when you get around to upgrading the help file.
Right, but do you think that xnview must not convert the file if it's already a jpeg??
Pierre.

Olive
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:18 pm
Location: Marseille
Contact:

Post by Olive » Fri Jul 27, 2007 6:01 pm

If you selected pics of several formats, the copying of the jpeg files should be lossless, IMO. Also, it'd be nice if the jpeg conversion from the Webpage Create dialog could use the settings in options>general>write. Then It'd make more sense to convert from jpg to jpg, for example to adjust quality.

Post Reply