Change file name after 'save as'

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
earthshaker
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:42 am

Change file name after 'save as'

Post by earthshaker » Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:04 pm

In the options under the general category under operations, there is a check box 'after save as change filename' I am not sure I have it set correctly.
After I work on an image, I try to add a letter or number to separate it from the original, sometimes I forget and lose the original. Is there a way to set up up XNview to do this automatically, after a 'save as'?

earthshaker
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:42 am

Post by earthshaker » Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 pm

OK let me rephrase the question. If I check the box the program asks me if I want to replace the image, if I uncheck the check box, the program asks me if I want to replace the image.
In other words, the after 'save as' change filename doesn't appear to work. what do I need to do to make the program, change the filename automatically after a 'save as'?

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Check…

Post by Clo » Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:41 pm

:arrow: earthshaker

:) Hello !

• Sorry for the late reply, but I had to investigate a bit, since here it works perfectly, I use that all the day long…
- Please, check the option :
>> Options >> General >> [File operations tab]
[ ] For Save as, use original pathname & format
- Untick the box whether it's.
- To avoid the exasperating "overwrite" messages, please have a glance HERE, scroll the page to :
[Start]
ShowSaveDlg= Flag
:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8174
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:43 pm

Currently XnView does not support automatic handling of duplicate file name. I think it would be a great thing to have such a name handling or alternatively handling of backup files (the old file is renamed, not the new one).
Options' descriptions for 1.82 wrote: The setting 'After save as change filename' will change the current image's name to what you have specified in the 'Save as' dialog. Not more, not less (don't ask me for a use case where this is needed...).
I'm not clear myself what a use case for this setting looks like.

earthshaker
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:42 am

Post by earthshaker » Wed Nov 05, 2008 12:20 am

It would be a nice feature indeed, I have some other software that handle this situation this way: dcp001 (original image), dcp001_1 (image after alteration)

Post Reply