Can I switch thumbnail/cache update to manually?

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
Crysler
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 9:33 pm
Location: Baltic Sea, Germany

Can I switch thumbnail/cache update to manually?

Post by Crysler » Sun Nov 03, 2019 12:16 pm

I have a folder of about 3000-4000 pictures.
When I am finished editing a picture I move it to another folder.
XnView notices that there is one pic missing and starts updating the thumbnails or the cache: the progress bar in the bottom right starts from the beginning, the CPU load goes up and the cooling fan starts making noise until XnView has finished rereading the whole folder.

Is there a setting to make XnView stop invoking all automatic CPU intense tasks in situations like that and switch them to manually? It would be better if I had to hit an update-button once in a while.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32081
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Can I switch thumbnail/cache update to manually?

Post by xnview » Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:25 pm

currently there is no way to disable creation of thumbnails when opening a folder
Pierre.

User avatar
Crysler
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 9:33 pm
Location: Baltic Sea, Germany

Re: Can I switch thumbnail/cache update to manually?

Post by Crysler » Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:59 pm

Ah, ok. Thanks for the reply!

Post Reply